Steering Control Module - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Steering Control Module

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 08-06-2014, 01:56 AM   #1
gingersnap05
2005 WK 

Steering Control Module

About a month ago, I was having problems with a dead battery almost every week. I could charge it completely on a Sunday and in about 6 or 7 days, the battery would be dead. I brought it to the dealer ship and they told me that my steering control module was essentially shorting itself out. Well, being a college student, I didn't and still don't have the money for the 600$ part, so my dad and grandpa rigged up a toggle switch to cut the power to the control module so my battery wouldn't die. The last 2 weeks or so, my Jeep has been really acting up. The tranny seems to lag when shifting, and when shifting into reverse and drive, it'll lurch forward quite suddenly when letting off the brake. Last weekend, my front passenger door window won't go down when using that control switch. The switch will put the window up, but not down. And finally, last night on my way home from work (a 20 mile drive), she really started to irritate me. I stopped, let off the brake and pushed on the gas....and nothing. She rolled forward for about 5 seconds until something finally "caught" and then she worked just fine. But then I noticed my speedometer wasn't working properly. It seemed to not be able to keep up with what my speed was when speeding up and slowing down. I guess I was wondering if these problems were related to the steering control module, or possibly to the toggle switch.