stacking tuners - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > stacking tuners

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Reply
Unread 11-09-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
jragan89
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 9
stacking tuners

whats up yall. anyone ever stack a tuner and a chip with the V6? i currently have a Hypertech tuner for a little bit of extra power and fuel economy but im looking at ordering a JET Performance Chip to get a little more. not sure what is going to happen if both are sending signals to the ECU... or what??? iv looked on autoanything.com, summit racing, and quadratech and i havent seen anything saying the JET is stackable. thanks for any info

jragan89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-09-2012, 10:47 PM   #2
JRLT
Registered User
2010 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lower Brule, South Dakota
Posts: 1,376
Heard the computer will eventually compensate for the chip; so gains now & cancelled out chip later. Tuner is as good as it gets it seems.
__________________
2010 3.7L, 4XGuard Matrix, Fastman TB, TB Ground Mod, Injen CAI, 255/60/18 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Bilstein Shocks & Struts, Cruiser Alloy Wheels - Switchblade, Stillen Brakes, Cargo Light Strip Mod, Electric Ashtray Mod, Jet-powered, Monkey Navigated...
JRLT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-10-2012, 03:29 PM   #3
quicksilverado
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 211
You can not stack tuners on gas engines.
__________________
07 Grand Cherokee Limited CRD 4X4 GDE tune
00 Silverado 10 sec work truck
quicksilverado is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-10-2012, 09:53 PM   #4
elfirebird
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilverado View Post
You can not stack tuners on gas engines.
I think it is theoretically possible, but not with anything they have on the market currently. I had a 24v Cummins Ram for awhile, and the way stacking works there is that one tuner controls the fuel schedule, and the other modifies the timing... But, increasing fuel without increasing the airflow would turn things bad in a hurry on a gasoline engine... hence turbocharging on a diesel engine.

So no. Unless you have a goose that lays golden eggs, and another goose that is a really good troubleshooter.
__________________
2005 WK Limited Deep Beryl Green Hemi QD2 - Daystar, Bilsteins and MLL - 265 70 17 Toyo AT II - Black Rock Viper Black wheels - Aq1200D + SDC2.512 = 870 watts RMS
elfirebird is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-11-2012, 07:36 AM   #5
quicksilverado
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfirebird View Post
I think it is theoretically possible, but not with anything they have on the market currently. I had a 24v Cummins Ram for awhile, and the way stacking works there is that one tuner controls the fuel schedule, and the other modifies the timing... But, increasing fuel without increasing the airflow would turn things bad in a hurry on a gasoline engine... hence turbocharging on a diesel engine.

So no. Unless you have a goose that lays golden eggs, and another goose that is a really good troubleshooter.
Gas engine is completely different than a diesel. You can stack diesel tuners because of the turbo.
__________________
07 Grand Cherokee Limited CRD 4X4 GDE tune
00 Silverado 10 sec work truck
quicksilverado is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-11-2012, 06:04 PM   #6
paroxysym
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 3,926
Jet chips are junk..
__________________
2007.5 WK Laredo 4.7
OEM+
paroxysym is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-11-2012, 07:14 PM   #7
Scottso699
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by paroxysym
Jet chips are junk..
I'll second that - I had a Jet chip on my Hemi and when burned out it fried my wiring harness and blanket my computer. It cost me $650 to have the dealer fix it. Jet chip said "sorry - out of warranty". What a POS. Spend your money on a superchips tuner or hyperchips tuner. They do SO much more than a jetchips chip.
__________________
Scott

2006 WK Overland
2014 WK2 Limited
Scottso699 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.