Roof Rack Removal - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Roof Rack Removal

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Unread 01-24-2008, 08:19 PM   #1
Ares177
2005 WK 

Roof Rack Removal

Hi everybody. I bought an 05 GC Limited about a month ago and I'm also a newbie to the site.

Has anyone removed the cross bars from the roof rack or removed the roof rack entirely? I've always been a sport truck guy and I'm looking to make this a nice street Jeep so I also thought about swapping out the rack with the SRT8 rails. Anyone done that?

Ares177 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-24-2008, 08:52 PM   #2
jeepgaffer
2006 WK 

I don't know if you searched for it or not...but this is a fairly common question.

Anyway, there are many people who have put SRT8 'rails' on a regular WK. From what I understand, its basically unbolt/bolt-on. If you want to remove just the cross-bars, you have to pull out the little silver pin on the bottom of the knobs. If you can't do that, you have to remove the caps at the end of the rail so you can slide the bars off.

FYI...a good place online to buy a lot of Jeep parts/accessories is justforjeeps.com, a lot of people (including myself) have purchased from there. Also, check out wkjeeps.com for a lot of other useful info.
Unread 01-25-2008, 06:25 AM   #3
Serbonze
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ares177
Hi everybody. I bought an 05 GC Limited about a month ago and I'm also a newbie to the site.