Recommendations on buying a Commander? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Recommendations on buying a Commander?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valuePremium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDG

Unread 04-01-2006, 05:11 PM   #1
flagstaffjeeper

Recommendations on buying a Commander?

Hey all,

I have a friend who is interested in buying a 2005 or 2006 Commander. I have not frequented this part of the forum too often, and I have little knowledge regarding the Commander. I understand that my friend wants to use this vehicle as a daily driver, with some occasional light trail use. Thoughts, comments, and suggestions are all welcomed.

Regards,

Matt

Previous Jeep: 1981 CJ7, 4.2L, Muncie SM465, Dana 300 t/c, Dana 30 Front, AMC 20 Rear
flagstaffjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-2006, 12:58 PM   #2
JeepCollector

Your friend won't find a 2005 Commander - the first year was 2006. For off-roading I would recommend the QuadraDrive II 4x4 system only available on the V8's. The next best would be the QuadraTrac II system (same 2-speed transfer case without electronic differentials in the axles). Engine, model, and options will have to be looked at for intended use - fuel mileage, towing, looks, and whatever. Tell them to go test drive what they think they might want first. Warning: if they try a loaded one they could end up liking the NAV radio, heated seats, and all the goodies!
JeepCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-2006, 12:23 AM   #3
reedjohnson