recall 2005 to 2010 Grand Cherokees, 2006 to 2010 Commanders - Page 6 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #76 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 09:49 AM
R32R1
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South County
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJS8510 View Post
R32R1
You could not go into 4-low after the recall fix?
Correct. I'm not the only one on here. I'm having the code read this afternoon and I'll post what they say. Apparently resetting it helped one user, but I'm skeptical.

R32R1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 09:50 AM
longboy
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 951
I have my appointment setup for Wednesday morning. I figure I'd rather have this recall done now before winter hits and I might need 4LO (if I have the same issue as R32R1).

2006 5.7l WK
longboy is offline  
post #78 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
LJS8510
Web Wheeler
 
LJS8510's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 1,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by R32R1 View Post
Correct. I'm not the only one on here. I'm having the code read this afternoon and I'll post what they say. Apparently resetting it helped one user, but I'm skeptical.
Keep us posted
Thanks


2015 WK II 5.7 Overland, Offroad Group II,- 2008 WK Limited 3.0 CRD, - 2003 WJ Laredo 4.7, - 2001 WJ Laredo 4.0, - 1999 WJ Limited 4.7-
LJS8510 is offline  
post #79 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 11:04 AM
WmassWK
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western, MA
Posts: 41
R32r1- I called the recall center fri after my issues began. They said it shouldnt be a factor. Prior to doing the recall I retd the jeep to stock settings (superchips) but forgot to return to the factory tire size. After *****ing with chrysler and the dealer I pulled out the tuner. After resetting the tire size I had 4 lo again. I then reinstalled the 89 tune and appropriate tire size. All is well. ANYONE that runs a tuner should reset to factorycsettings prior to a dealer flash.


The code should be c140f transfer case sensor erratic performance... resetting the code did nothing for me. I came right back after pulling the t lever.
WmassWK is offline  
post #80 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 02:45 PM
R32R1
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South County
Posts: 209
Yes, after getting my GC scanned, I was also getting the C140F code. Reset it and nothing happened. I don't have a tuner, but I'm running 31's. That shouldn't be a factor at all, other than an incorrect speedometer. My jeep still thinks its OEM tires.

I'm skeptical that replacing the T-Case motor will do anything. I ran 4LO just last week and it was fine...checked the harness and it's clean as a whistle. That code is for a sensor inside of that motor. The only way to replace the sensor is to replace the entire motor. Looking like $193/remanufactured.

Eric
R32R1 is offline  
post #81 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 03:34 PM
R32R1
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South County
Posts: 209
I just ordered the T-Case motor to rule that out. I should have it within a couple of days and post back if the problem persists. ($188/ Shipped from Rock Auto- best price I found).
R32R1 is offline  
post #82 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 04:01 PM
RockinR
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Del Rio
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by trax95008 View Post
Or possibly be causing some of the "service 4WD system" messages...
I took my Commander in last Tuesday. After the reprograming, a few days later I tried to shift into 4X4 Lo, and the transfer case wouldn't budge, also gave me a "service 4x4 system" message. I took it back to the dealer, and first they tried to tell me that the transfer case actuator was bad, but it had nothing to do with the recall. I had read up on the recall, so I already knew that it was in fact all about the transfer case. The dealer checked with Chrysler, and lo and behold there are things that must be disconnected before reprograming. They had to do the reprogram over with certain components disconnected. That fixed the problem. They also gave me a wash, detail, and filled up the gas tank for all of my trouble!
RockinR is offline  
post #83 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 04:04 PM
RockinR
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Del Rio
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJS8510 View Post
R32R1
You could not go into 4-low after the recall fix?
Read the previous post. I had the same problem. It is caused by the dealer not following the correct proceedure during the reprogram.
RockinR is offline  
post #84 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 04:08 PM
suzieque
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinR View Post
The dealer checked with Chrysler, and lo and behold there are things that must be disconnected before reprograming. They had to do the reprogram over with certain components disconnected. That fixed the problem.
this frightens me, I want some other poor suckers to go first and get the recall, though being this time of year few folks would test 4 low until months from now and get the error!

2008 WK "S" Limited bright metallic silver exterior, light graystone interior, 5 speed W5J400 transmission, June 18/2008 build, C213RE rear differential with 3.73 axle ratio, C200FE front differential with 3.73 axle ratio, 245/60R18 Goodyear Fortera tires (stock summer tires), NV245 transfer case, GT2056V turbo, 3.0L CRD (OM642.980)
suzieque is offline  
post #85 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 04:55 PM
RockinR
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Del Rio
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzieque View Post
this frightens me, I want some other poor suckers to go first and get the recall, though being this time of year few folks would test 4 low until months from now and get the error!
Well I have a habit of shifting into 4 Lo every Saturday morning, rolling back a few yards, then shifting back to high. That is why I caught it fairly quickly. What frightens me is the dealer wanting to charge me $600.00 for a new T-Case actuator. If I hadn't been fairly knowledgable about the recall I would have paid for a new Actuator, and it still wouldn't have fixed it. I am pretty sure they were supposed to disconnect the final drive shift module prior to the reprogram, which they did the second time.
RockinR is offline  
post #86 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 05:00 PM
longboy
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 951
^ and that's exactly why I'd like to get the recall done now and have time to make sure everything is operating as intended, not when the snow flies or when I'm on a trail.

2006 5.7l WK
longboy is offline  
post #87 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 05:13 PM
Walt
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midland
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinR View Post
I took my Commander in last Tuesday. After the reprograming, a few days later I tried to shift into 4X4 Lo, and the transfer case wouldn't budge, also gave me a "service 4x4 system" message. I took it back to the dealer, and first they tried to tell me that the transfer case actuator was bad, but it had nothing to do with the recall. I had read up on the recall, so I already knew that it was in fact all about the transfer case. The dealer checked with Chrysler, and lo and behold there are things that must be disconnected before reprograming. They had to do the reprogram over with certain components disconnected. That fixed the problem. They also gave me a wash, detail, and filled up the gas tank for all of my trouble!
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinR View Post
Read the previous post. I had the same problem. It is caused by the dealer not following the correct proceedure during the reprogram.
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzieque View Post
this frightens me, I want some other poor suckers to go first and get the recall, though being this time of year few folks would test 4 low until months from now and get the error!
Glad I waited. I did check the operation of 4Lo today. The transfer case on my Heep goes in-and-out without codes. We'll have that discussion when the Service Manager & I talk so we both understand the correct procedure. In fairness, the Service Manager and the technician who does this work are both top-notch, but I'll ask anyway to preclude a return trip. [My dealer makes up for all of other bad dealer service depts reported elsewhere.]

Belt & suspenders to hold up my pants.......................

HEMI CLUB MEMBER #45; SILVER WK CLUB MEMBER #13
'08 WK GC Limited. 5.7L HEMI. Quadra-Trac II. Bright Silver Metallic. Class IV hitch.
Michelin LTX M/S tires. Fumoto oil drain valve. Billet Technology oil catch can.
Walt is offline  
post #88 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 05:28 PM
BAH101
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 874
Maybe a good idea would be to video putting the Jeep in 4LO before taking it in, just to prove it works. Also, for me, I'll check the 4LO before leaving the dealer lot, after all I have read here.

2008 CRD QDII, OME HD, Pintlers wheels with 265/70/17 Goodyear Silent Armour's, Jeepinbyal UCA's. 4XGuard Front guard, Side Guard, belly guard, Matrix HC. GDE ECO Tune w/ delete.
BAH101 is offline  
post #89 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 05:46 PM
jjarvis0007
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NLR
Posts: 410
I'm scheduled for 8:30 tomorrow morning. I'll be bringing out the service manager and explaining the potential problem and showing him my 4 Low works. When I pulled in the dealership this morning to see if I could get it done I made sure to engage the 4 Low. It all worked. Tomorrow will be interesting for sure.
jjarvis0007 is offline  
post #90 of 301 Old 08-19-2013, 05:53 PM
pinstripefan90
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grahamsville
Posts: 68
I'm a chrysler dodge jeep tech and all it is is a flash to the FDCM (Final Drive Control Module) and w/ the new software supposedly it will avoid the possibility of this incident occurring.

- Jake
pinstripefan90 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome