Quick need an answer - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Quick need an answer

Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Reply
Unread 12-29-2014, 11:39 PM   #1
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quick need an answer

Going to buy a brand new throttle body on eBay for my 09 jeep gc. I have a DBW throttle body. Would I need to have it programmed at the dealer upon installation? Last time I got a used one from an 07 commander and the engine light went on. I'm guessing because that one was already programmed?

Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 12:14 AM   #2
modernblueWK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gunnison, CO
Posts: 2,134
Is there something wrong with your current throttle body?
__________________
2008 WK 4.7 245/70-17 Grabber AT2 Magnflow G2 MLL's RC Lift 4xguard Steel Armadillo
Blue WK club #4
modernblueWK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 12:26 AM   #3
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by modernblueWK View Post
Is there something wrong with your current throttle body?
Maybe? I think? Idk. If you've been reading my posts I've been chasing down an idle surge issue for the past 3 months now and have replaced many parts with no success. The idle surge only happens when it rains. I sprayed the the throttle body down back in October with throttle body cleaner but it got all over the sides of it and I didn't do it the correct way. It works fine but I believe ever since I put it back after that the idle has been down a little since. I figure a new one for 65 bucks might help a little
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 08:32 AM   #4
caulk04
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greenville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,209
They don't need any programming.
__________________
Tint, Superchips, SRT intake tube, Gibson catback, catch can. One hardcore DD/kid hauler...yeah.
caulk04 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 10:56 AM   #5
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by caulk04 View Post
They don't need any programming.
Your sure the engine light won't go on like it did when I put the used one in from the commander?
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 05:15 PM   #6
Greever
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: yonkers, New York
Posts: 112
quick question, did u change the throttle body gasket when u cleaned it? and tighten it down in a cross pattern?
Greever is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 05:23 PM   #7
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greever View Post
quick question, did u change the throttle body gasket when u cleaned it? and tighten it down in a cross pattern?
Throttle body gasket is still original and yes I tightened it down in cross cross pattern
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 06:10 PM   #8
DCFD522
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Alexandria, Va
Posts: 51
I went with the 4.7L DBW TB...no codes andno programming required. Bolts all match, had to shave down the plastic nub on the intake, but that's it.
DCFD522 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 06:55 PM   #9
caulk04
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greenville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,209
The tb is not a computer. It does not need any programming.

If you got a cel, it's not because the pcm doesn't know what tb is on there.
__________________
Tint, Superchips, SRT intake tube, Gibson catback, catch can. One hardcore DD/kid hauler...yeah.
caulk04 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 07:01 PM   #10
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by caulk04 View Post
The tb is not a computer. It does not need any programming.

If you got a cel, it's not because the pcm doesn't know what tb is on there.
ok cool thanks. So maybe the throttle body from the commander was originally bad, thats why the cel was thrown?
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 07:52 PM   #11
luckyse7ens
Registered User
2010 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: concord, ca
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff1119 View Post
ok cool thanks. So maybe the throttle body from the commander was originally bad, thats why the cel was thrown?
Did you ever pull the codes? Some sellers list 3.7L and 4.7L throttle bodies the same. The problem is that 4.7L Tb's are larger. Which do you have?
__________________
Black WK Club #152
luckyse7ens is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 07:57 PM   #12
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyse7ens View Post
Did you ever pull the codes? Some sellers list 3.7L and 4.7L throttle bodies the same. The problem is that 4.7L Tb's are larger. Which do you have?
i mean this was a month ago so i no longer have the throttle body with me but it was the 3.7 one. And i didn't bother too obtain the codes at the time since i assumed it had to be programmed. Came off an 07 commander. Was gonna order a new one off of eBay for 65 bucks
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-30-2014, 11:49 PM   #13
Jeff1119
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 221
does anyone know how many pounds the 4 bolts on the throttle body should be torqued too?
Jeff1119 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-31-2014, 07:29 AM   #14
caulk04
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greenville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,209
I don't know, never saw a need to torque that bolt. Just watch the gasket compress and once it's all seated, just a tick past to keep it from coming loose...if that makes any sense.
__________________
Tint, Superchips, SRT intake tube, Gibson catback, catch can. One hardcore DD/kid hauler...yeah.
caulk04 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-31-2014, 07:34 AM   #15
Craigyfm
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Camberley, Surrey
Posts: 119
I've just re read your post about spraying down the TB. If you go to WKjeeps maintenance schedule it mentions"not" to clean the part. This may have been your issue. Good luck.
Craigyfm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.