Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Omelet's Build Thread (aka The Bison)!

1M views 3K replies 325 participants last post by  Rican142 
#1 ·
That's right, I am FINALLY making my build thread! I have been modding this Jeep for three years now so I have a lot of catching up to do. Just bare with me, because this is going to take some time to get through. I will start from the beginning and try not to miss anything. :2thumbsup:

It all started in 2004 when I saw the beast that AEV and SuperLift made.

Not only did it look awesome, but it boasted some incredible performance. A Jeep Grand Cherokee with QDII coupled to a HEMI! I had to have it! Unfortunately, being a lowly military man also trying to support a family I could not afford a $45K vehicle, let along the $5K+ for the lift tires and other goodies.

Finally after the market took a crap in late 08 the time had come! I started looking around and pricing the different models and option. By then the CRD had also come out which I wanted more than the Hemi, but I could not find one in Cali :thumbdown: I found a few in other states, but they were too far away and more than I could afford. So I ended up scoring a 2005 Limited with every option available that year and 40K miles for $16K! It seemed no one wanted to buy a big Hemi powered vehicle at that time, so local dealers were pricing them very low. Even a year after I bought it I couldn't find a better deal :thumbsup:

This was the day I brought it home!

Yes it is dirty because I insisted on swinging by a trail on the way home to test out 4lo! I wanted to make sure the t-case and ELSDs were working properly. :D In fact the first mod I made was to remove the front air dam before I hit the trail.

Below is a list of mods I have performed. Click on the mod and it will take you straight to it. This should help with the confusion of trying to find what you are looking for :2thumbsup:

-Volant CAI
-MBRP Exhaust
-LED Taillights
-Aries Taillight Guards