The New Guy - Getting a Commander for the Wifey - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > The New Guy - Getting a Commander for the Wifey

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft tops

Unread 01-23-2007, 08:17 AM   #16
JohnnyBighead
2007 XK Commander 

those are good tips. how does the phone connect to the u-connect? i have never had anything bluetooth and i am behind the times when it comes to that stuff. do you have a picture of what you are talking about with the 2x4, sounds like a great addition. Thanks!

JohnnyBighead is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2007, 10:38 AM   #17
Francos_Cmdr

picture

I'm a newbie to the board, and I understand that it takes a while before they allow me to post a picture.. Its pretty straightforward however. You will see two plastic "Pulls" right near the tail of the floor and on the outsides. I just cut a 2x4 so that it sits snuggly across with about an eighth inch space on each side. The wood just sits flat and in front of the Pulls. This just keeps stuff from rolling out.

The "U" connect took some reading the manual to get working, but it wasn't too hard. You just turn the Bluetooth on on your phone, then follow the prompts for "Setup" and you're good to go. You assign priorities to phones the U-connect is gonna see. In my case I'm numero-uno, the wife is Number 2 and the boys are 3 and 4. The system recognizes all phones in the car. So when your wife takes the vehicle it will see her phone and work using her's. You can't really swap easily when both are in the car, its gonna pick you.