N23 Recall Issue? No 4-Low! - Page 50 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > N23 Recall Issue? No 4-Low!

Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon ZipIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineBead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-Gear

Reply
Unread 12-22-2013, 03:48 PM   #736
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjarvis0007 View Post
Good thinking. Wonder is its worth a free FDCM though? Now I'll have a new actuator and a new FDCM. Then maybe someday Chrysler will suck it up and find a fix for the issue? Then maybe I can keep my old FDCM and send it you?
Sounds like a fine plan to me.


.

Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-22-2013, 04:10 PM   #737
jjarvis0007
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NLR, AR
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blown7 View Post

Sounds like a fine plan to me.

.
Always good to have a backup I would think?
jjarvis0007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-22-2013, 06:04 PM   #738
willyok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Coronado, California
Posts: 56
I wonder if there is anything GDE can do as far as a flash to put this back to they way it was before the recall.
willyok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-22-2013, 08:52 PM   #739
Carlson05
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bristol, Connecticut
Posts: 73
I'm looking at some junk yards for the FDCM...what are some other names for it that they might list it under?
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.7 QTII
245:65:17 Cooper AT3's
OME 2.5'' lift w/bilstein 4600 struts.
Carlson05 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 02:56 AM   #740
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by willyok View Post
I wonder if there is anything GDE can do as far as a flash to put this back to they way it was before the recall.
Whats GDE ?????
Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 02:59 AM   #741
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlson05 View Post
I'm looking at some junk yards for the FDCM...what are some other names for it that they might list it under?
Transfer case control module.

Transfer case controller.

NV246 control module
Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 03:12 AM   #742
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Here's one on ebay.. if the flash isn't correct I think I can flash it.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2007-JEEP-GR...0ada21&vxp=mtr
Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 03:17 AM   #743
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Here's another
http://www.ebay.com/itm/08-10-Jeep-G...e3fe6f&vxp=mtr
Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 10:30 AM   #744
jcf9400
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pottsville, PA
Posts: 43
Will these work for an 2005?
jcf9400 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 11:56 AM   #745
willyok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Coronado, California
Posts: 56
GDE is green diesel engineering. They make the tunes and programmer/scanner for the CRD version that i own. I will contact them and see what they say.
willyok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #746
WKDiesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by willyok View Post
GDE is green diesel engineering. They make the tunes and programmer/scanner for the CRD version that i own. I will contact them and see what they say.
I don't think there will be much companies out there willing to do such a thing. The actuators actually DO have a safety issue. Not sure if a company will take on the liability to flash it back to a version which is NOT SAFE.

The ultimate problem is with Chrysler. Instead of replacing the Actuator with a good one they just decided to try a Software Fix.
WKDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #747
Blown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by willyok View Post
GDE is green diesel engineering. They make the tunes and programmer/scanner for the CRD version that i own. I will contact them and see what they say.
Betcha they can't touch it with a 10 foot pole.
Blown7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 12:20 PM   #748
WKDiesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 100
If anyone has a spare actuator or the old one that they replaced. Could you take it apart and take some photos. I really would like to see what the internal circuit board looks like and to see if its repairable.
WKDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 12:43 PM   #749
ASTMedic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marysville, CA
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by WKDiesel
I don't think there will be much companies out there willing to do such a thing. The actuators actually DO have a safety issue. Not sure if a company will take on the liability to flash it back to a version which is NOT SAFE. The ultimate problem is with Chrysler. Instead of replacing the Actuator with a good one they just decided to try a Software Fix.
I thought people were getting the new actuator installed and still had the problem.
ASTMedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-23-2013, 12:50 PM   #750
WKDiesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASTMedic View Post
I thought people were getting the new actuator installed and still had the problem.
I thought that was from the old stock. Since then Chrysler had switched suppliers?

That's all I got from the forums.
WKDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
error , recall

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.