LED Wiring - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
LED Wiring

Long story short...

Mounting LED pods on 4 sides of a roof rack. Bought a switch plate from Steel Dillo and have 5 switches coming from eBay. I need 5 harnesses for this setup to control the lighting how I want, but every harness I find comes with a switch and plugs. Is there a company that sells what I need, but without a switch and plugs included? Just need fuse and relay. Also need wire as it's obviously longer than 10 feet runs which is what most of these harnesses online are. Prefer US based as I want to complete this project next weekend.

Thanks so much!

commanding2016 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 07:50 PM
Budasac
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 3,245
You need to just buy the relays and wire it up yourself. You're not going to find a pre-fab harness for what you want to do.
Budasac is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Is there a good site to buy what I need? Never wired anything outside of car audio stuff a decade ago.
commanding2016 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 08:09 PM
JeffQuinn
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by commanding2016 View Post
Is there a good site to buy what I need? Never wired anything outside of car audio stuff a decade ago.
Your local auto parts store should have relays and rolls of wire in stock.

Jeff Quinn
Gunblast.com
JeffQuinn is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Can you tell I never go in one of those? HA! Is that the cheapest route though? I'm doing everything possible to save money on this truck as it's at 160k and you never know. Thanks
commanding2016 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-01-2017, 09:33 PM
Budasac
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 3,245
I wrote up a thread about five years ago to help people wire their lights and accessories up. Check it out. Maybe it'll give you some ideas.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/e...elays-1207445/
Budasac is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 07:36 AM
acabtp
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 60
Garage
http://www.digikey.com

'05 WK Limited 5.7 Hemi
acabtp is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budasac View Post
I wrote up a thread about five years ago to help people wire their lights and accessories up. Check it out. Maybe it'll give you some ideas.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/e...elays-1207445/
Thanks for this. My plan is to run 5 relays (only going to utilize 4 for this project until the steel bumper / winch project begins) and I'm even more confused now with the fuse block, ha. Is this a must for this many relays? Or can I just run fuses in line like they are when you buy the relay harnesses?

Assuming the fuse block is just to keep things neater, correct?

Thanks for the post! The diagrams and photos make it much more clear for me.
commanding2016 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by acabtp View Post
Thanks for the link
commanding2016 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 07:01 PM
Budasac
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by commanding2016 View Post
Thanks for this. My plan is to run 5 relays (only going to utilize 4 for this project until the steel bumper / winch project begins) and I'm even more confused now with the fuse block, ha. Is this a must for this many relays? Or can I just run fuses in line like they are when you buy the relay harnesses?

Assuming the fuse block is just to keep things neater, correct?

Thanks for the post! The diagrams and photos make it much more clear for me.
Correct,. The fuse block is just to keep it more organized. You can run them all inline. I was trying to avoid having a fistful of wires attached to the battery and a bunch of fuses floating around. I also don't like having splices in the wires if it can be avoided and the inline fuses typically come with 6" leads.
Budasac is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
commanding2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budasac View Post
Correct,. The fuse block is just to keep it more organized. You can run them all inline. I was trying to avoid having a fistful of wires attached to the battery and a bunch of fuses floating around. I also don't like having splices in the wires if it can be avoided and the inline fuses typically come with 6" leads.
Great, thanks. I'll look under the hood and get a better idea of the space I have and make a decision at that time. May be tough to mount 5 damn relays next to each other, lol. Might have no other choice but to add a block to ensure I don't have that fistful, spiderweb / nest of wires.
commanding2016 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 01-02-2017, 07:53 PM
JeffQuinn
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 20
If you are running low-amperage LED lights, you do not have to use relays. Run a large-gauge wire to the fuse block, and run directly from the fuse block to each switch, then from each switch to each light. Less clutter, and saves you money. Just make sure that your switches are of proper amperage.

Jeff Quinn
Gunblast.com
JeffQuinn is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-03-2017, 04:11 PM
05AKWK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 22
Junkyard is your friend on this one. This is the stock relay box with an extra relay bank added.
Attached Images
 
05AKWK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome