Just Purchased - 2007 XK 3.0L V6 CRD - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Just Purchased - 2007 XK 3.0L V6 CRD

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGBds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Reply
Unread 10-19-2013, 01:10 PM   #1
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
Just Purchased - 2007 XK 3.0L V6 CRD

Hi all,

Just picked up my 2 owner, 2007 84,000 mile all black Limited Commander and love it.

I have an XC90 for the wife and wanted the high up seating position and road stance with better 4x4 ability and presence. Hence why I purchased an XK.

Two questions:

1) I have auto wipers but I don't have the auto headlight option on the turn signal stick. Has someone replaced the turn signal or could you spec one without the other?

2) I've driven (in the UK) from Peterborough to Newcastle, close to 200 miles. When I first picked the car up, it drove fine on the test drive. I stopped to fill it up after purchasing it and get some food. When I got back in it felt sluggish, almost like the auto box was engine breaking for me quite a bit. I then noticed when pulling out of a junction it would NOT go above aroun 2,500-3,000rpm. I knocked it out of Auto and changed down from a displayed 4th gear all the way to 2nd and no change in revs or feel in momentum. I put it back in drive, kicked down and nothing. Pulled over, dropped into N, then back into D, pulled away and all was well.

Is this a sign of a faulty gearbox, throttle position sensor or something else? My ODB2 reader has decided to die on me too so I can't pull any codes. Although the jeep isn't actually throwing any errors. All very strange.

Any ideas, possible UK based members?

Thanks in advance,
Sii

KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2013, 07:19 AM   #2
chrali
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 226
Hi mate I'm in Norfolk

Auto wipers came later as I asked my local jeep specialist the same question.

My xh struggled in a similar way as the egr valve packed up which is pricey but this could be anything from clogged fuel filter up so you really need to get the codes read. The dealer diagnostic tool provides more data than reading codes.

Hope that starts you off
__________________
*********************************************
Encourage alternative fuels - Use as much petrol as you can!
*********************************************
chrali is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 06:19 AM   #3
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
Really appreciate the heads up regards to the lights. Had me confused for ages. I think they came at the same time as the adjustable pedals.

I've got the Torque Pro app working on my Android phone, so far I have:

P0740 - Powertrain - Torque Converter Clutch Curcuit
P0741 - Powertrain - Torque Converter Clutch Curcuit Performance or stuck off
P0672 - Powertrain
P0700 - Transmission Control System (MIL Request)

So it looks as though I'm going to be off to the stealers this weekend to get it looked at. Fingers crossed.

Hope fully they'll all be legacy errors and it'll be something small that's causing the issue, something that is so small it doesn't throw a DTC.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 06:45 AM   #4
jaje
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 456
I hope you have a warranty from where you bought it for just in case.
__________________
'14 WK2 EcoDiesel Limited
'13 Subaru BRZ
#74 Exocet - NASA ST3 / E0
jaje is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 08:21 AM   #5
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
I do have a warranty, so there's a bit of comfort in that. Just took it to the local gearbox specialist who'd rebuilt my 300C SRT8 box, XC70 box and XC90. Very good place.

He drove the XK and said the valve body appear to be functioning correctly and the converter is stepping in when it should, however the box appears to get stuck between gears from time to time. Dropping off the throttle and going back on appears to fix it. He's never seen it before.

Suggested I get the box inspected next week.

Finger crossed.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 08:22 AM   #6
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
http://www.austrin-engineering.co.uk/ is the place
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 12:57 PM   #7
Zlartibartfast
Member
 
Zlartibartfast's Avatar
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Menchaca, Texas
Posts: 417
your P0672 code is indicating a failure of glowplug #2. You want to get that fixed as soon as possible.....
Zlartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 02:21 PM   #8
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
We rest the 'legacy' codes on their machine, rather than my android device with Torque Pro. That glow plug code didn't reappear. Only the P0741. All the others are now gone.

I'm assuming a previous owner had issues, had them resolved but never reset.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 02:56 PM   #9
ryann04
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptinOrsum View Post
We rest the 'legacy' codes on their machine, rather than my android device with Torque Pro. That glow plug code didn't reappear. Only the P0741. All the others are now gone.

I'm assuming a previous owner had issues, had them resolved but never reset.
I use Torque pro as well. It seems to me that Torque Pro likes to pull "Extra" codes from vehicles once in a while, that seem very "rare" or unlikely. Just my $0.02 anyways. But for the most part, the Torque Pro works flawlessly.
__________________
2008 - Jeep Grand Cherokee - 3.0L CRD - Quadra Drive II - GDE Hot-Tune - OME HD Lift Kit - OEM Full Steel Skids
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Blue WK Club Member #42 // DIESEL FTW !!!! -Ryan
ryann04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2013, 03:01 PM   #10
Zlartibartfast
Member
 
Zlartibartfast's Avatar
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Menchaca, Texas
Posts: 417
You are probably right about the legacy codes - sorry I jumped to a conclusion. It's worth noting that these glow plugs are different from the ones used in some other OM642 engines (they're 4.4V) and, my experience, putting off a replacement when you get a P067x fault will probably rise the cost of repair.

BTW I use Torque as well and it has helped me a whole lot
Zlartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 02:04 PM   #11
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
Cheers gents, I'm quite the grease monkey having built a twin turbo LS2 powered Monaro VXR, 600bhp MR2 turbo 400bhp Glanza V Turbo, supercharged S2000 and modified 300C SRT8. However I'm new to the Jeep fold and always start out with baby steps until I know my new platforms. Having 1 child and another on the way with plans to add yet another in the future I wanted safe, reliable, robust and BBBIIIGGG.

Just need to get the Commander 110% sorted and I'll be as happy as Larry.

Thanks for the feed back. It goes in next Monday to get the gearbox inspected and probably overhauled. Then on to the remap, removal of the DPF, 2-3" lift, big tyres and to black it all out.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-2013, 07:22 AM   #12
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
well, here's an update.

Gearbox rebuilt (1,900) and the problem is still there. Goes to show it's not the box

I'm still thinking throttle position sensor or other electrical gremlin. Anyone know what model/part number I need for a UK 3.0L V6 CRD throttle position sensor in the UK?

It's still holding back/locking revs and slowly dying off at 50-75% throttle. Going all the way to the floor doesn't make the Jeep kick down nor pick up speed. Coming off the throttle and back on kicks the Jeep back into life and 'pooooooofh' you're off.

Very weird.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-2013, 03:08 PM   #13
chrali
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 226
Bloody hell! Why on earth did you shell out for a autobox rebuild, when you still had warranty?!!!???!!!!

Like I said the main dealer tool shows MUCH more than fault codes. It shows details of many running parameters such as EGR function etc. IMHO replacing random parts in the hope of fixing it is a bit of a mugs game. Take it back to the trader ASAP and make the trader take it to Jeep for diagnosis and repair.
__________________
*********************************************
Encourage alternative fuels - Use as much petrol as you can!
*********************************************
chrali is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-12-2013, 06:18 AM   #14
KaptinOrsum
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrali View Post
Bloody hell! Why on earth did you shell out for a autobox rebuild, when you still had warranty?!!!???!!!!
Because the warranty company will cover the costs. Erm, seems logical.

The trader is based around 200 miles away and as per the 1979 sale of goods act, I don't need to take it, just get it fixed. Dealers in Newcastle couldn't find anything above and beyond what the local specialist has. The gearbox specialist has the same software as the dealership.
KaptinOrsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-12-2013, 06:58 AM   #15
chrali
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 226
Ah ok wondered why you were so calm. I still think you need to take it to a main dealer because whoever diagnosed your vehicle screwed up and fitted a transmission you didn't need and you still have a broke jeep. Rather brings their diagnosis skills into doubt.
__________________
*********************************************
Encourage alternative fuels - Use as much petrol as you can!
*********************************************
chrali is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.