If the I6 WJ is underpowered, then is the heavier V6 WK worse? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > If the I6 WJ is underpowered, then is the heavier V6 WK worse?

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 02-15-2015, 08:35 PM   #1
shinyhalo
2000 WJ 

If the I6 WJ is underpowered, then is the heavier V6 WK worse?

I have read posts here saying the I6 is underpowered for a 4000 pound SUV and even though I'm no expert, my WJ I6 doesn't blow me away with power so I tend to believe this. Also, when I fill the gas tank or load it with concrete bags I can definitely tell the difference.

So... with the WK being about 500 pounds heavier curb weight, is this WK thing a slug or is the V6 better than the I6 for power? And long life?

shinyhalo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-16-2015, 05:09 AM   #2
caulk04
2008 WK 

3.7 is sufficient for motivation. That's about it really. It'll get the job done for someone who just wants to drive.

Towing? Gonna suck.

Passing? Gonna suck.

Offroading? Not gonna be much fun, for two reasons (power and no low-range).
Unread 02-16-2015, 05:16 AM   #3
Marcus86GLHS

the power to weight ratio of the 6-cyl WJ and WK leave a lot to be desired but the ratio is on par with many other competing SUV's so from a market perspective I'd say Jeep did not do much better or worse than the competition.

After owning an I6 ZJ all of the GC's I bought afterwards had V8's.......a Hemi WK is one hell of a street brawler even in stock form against many other SUV's in same size/weight class.