how to install aftermarket amp/subs to existing factory amp - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-01-2013, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Kkoharski
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brick
Posts: 4
how to install aftermarket amp/subs to existing factory amp

I have an installation question regarding connecting an aftermarket sub & amp to an existing factory amp AND head unit with no sub output. My vehicle and products are as follows...

2008 jeep grand Cherokee Laredo- w/ touch screen nav & Boston acoustic component speakers and amplifier as well.

I recently purchased and would like to install..

Sound ordnance B-8PT (amp&sub enclosed)
LOC made by Audio Control, LC2i model
Rockford Frosgate 10awg amp wiring kit (includes power & ground wires, act fuse holder, remote wire + hardware
Noise canceling RCA cables

I've installed amps and subwoofers before but never to a factory radio with no RCA outputs and a factory amp for the component speakers.

I am seeking some kind of wiring schematics of help with the best routes to connect everything for the best sound!

Any help is appreciated, thank you!

Kkoharski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 08:04 AM
denihanj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kkoharski
I have an installation question regarding connecting an aftermarket sub & amp to an existing factory amp AND head unit with no sub output. My vehicle and products are as follows...

2008 jeep grand Cherokee Laredo- w/ touch screen nav & Boston acoustic component speakers and amplifier as well.

I recently purchased and would like to install..

Sound ordnance B-8PT (amp&sub enclosed)
LOC made by Audio Control, LC2i model
Rockford Frosgate 10awg amp wiring kit (includes power & ground wires, act fuse holder, remote wire + hardware
Noise canceling RCA cables

I've installed amps and subwoofers before but never to a factory radio with no RCA outputs and a factory amp for the component speakers.

I am seeking some kind of wiring schematics of help with the best routes to connect everything for the best sound!

Any help is appreciated, thank you!
I am trying to do the same in a 2009 grand cherokee. Any answers to you post or did you find answers?
denihanj is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 12:50 PM
bhawks28
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by denihanj View Post
I am trying to do the same in a 2009 grand cherokee. Any answers to you post or did you find answers?
you could try some light reading :
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/f...ub-amp-695810/
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/n...g-rer-1490843/
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/h...on-ac-1481264/
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/s...my-wk-1337143/
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/r...ifier-1060135/

2014 JKU Rubicon
bhawks28 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 11:04 PM
hxdrummerxc
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 840
i just went through all of this......
Its a huge pain if you have the RER radio (2008+). I guess the non-touch head units will work normal. I have also read that its a possibility that the non-nav RER might work fine. But if you have the RER with the nav, be prepared to get frustrated.

You can't really hook it into the head unit of the RER. You would need to spend a lot of money on a PAC unit that converts the signal from the canbus to an analog audio signal. I believe they are around $150-200 and even those are reported to have issues, and possibly not work at all.
http://www.pac-audio.com/productDeta...&CategoryID=28

I tried everything in my power to splice in my line out converter behind the head unit. I found the wiring diagram and cut and spliced the converter where it normally would go, but it won't work. Let this be a warning, don't waste your time messing with your head unit unless you have the PAC harness.

You could test your luck with the PAC, or get a new head unit, or.......
Its not the most ideal way, but you have to splice the line out converter into the analog OUTPUTS of the stock amp. So basically your new amp is getting the signal from your old amp. Its not going to achieve the best sound quality, but I can tell you that it is still MUCH MUCH better than the stock system. I also have a sound ordnance amp /speakers / 2nd amp/bass. And I installed all new 4 door speakers, and ran new speaker wire.

Take a look at my thread here for more detailed information:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/n.../#post15113721


In the simplest way that I can put it, the jeep sends all of its audio information digitally to the stock amp via the CAN BUS. Its a digital signal, so you can't splice into it (you need analog). Also its supposedly encrypted. What those PAC adapters are suppose to do is take the digital signal from the CAN BUS, and convert it to an analog signal, that you can then use to add a new amp. So all of the audio signal to the stock amp is via CAN BUS. But the output signal from the stock amp is true analog signal to the speakers. So you can do what I did and splice into the outputs of the stock amp with your LOC. But keep in mind you will be using BOTH amps this way. It would certainly produce better sound quality if you could splice directly into the head unit with the PAC adapter. But I have read from a few places that it works, and a few places that it doesn't.

08' Limited 5.7L QTII | Hemi Club #76 | RC lift | Custom painted headlights with Oracle LED Halos | Bwoody 4" Short Ram Velocity Intake | Flowmaster Super 44 & resonator delete | Superchips Vivid |
hxdrummerxc is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-14-2013, 12:17 AM
Jaashua
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,144
My installer found a way to get around this without going amp to amp, but that is why I paid someone to do it.

Sent from my Samsung S2 using JeepForum
Jaashua is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-14-2013, 07:57 AM
hxdrummerxc
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 840
Probably with some sort of wiring adapter like the PAC units. There isn't any other way. Unless you have the regular head unit.

08' Limited 5.7L QTII | Hemi Club #76 | RC lift | Custom painted headlights with Oracle LED Halos | Bwoody 4" Short Ram Velocity Intake | Flowmaster Super 44 & resonator delete | Superchips Vivid |
hxdrummerxc is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-14-2013, 03:58 PM
Jaashua
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,144
I do, I missed that part.
Jaashua is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome