Glow plug module test? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-15-2014, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
VANCRD
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VANCOUVER
Posts: 34
Glow plug module test?

I have a 2008 WK CRD. Two months ago I got code P0671 - # 1 glow plug. I replaced this with Bosch code 80050 and cancelled the check engine light with my code reader. About two days later the light came on again - not showing both codes P0671 and P0672. I just kept driving it and the engine has had no trouble starting - I should mention I live in Vancouver, Canada which has a prety temperate climate and the car is stored indoors at night. Now I am about to make a trip through the mountains where it can get very cold so I replaced both # 1 and # 2 with the original Beru plugs. Sure enough 30 minutes after replacing these and cancelling the error codes with my code reader I am getting that light on again - with same codes. From what I have read here I am thinking that it might be the glow plug module but I am not getting a glow plug module error code. I am tempted to just replace it but I am wondering if there is a way that I can test it before doing that? I would hate to replace it for $200 and find out that that is not the problem. Any ideas anybody?

VANCRD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-15-2014, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
VANCRD
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VANCOUVER
Posts: 34
Anybody out there?
VANCRD is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-16-2014, 06:36 AM
mathetes
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Benton
Posts: 56
I have an 07. My glow plug module went out at around 90,000 miles. It did trip the code though. Soon after that the glow plugs started to go, so I replaced them all @ 100,000. Not sure this helps, but others will chime in I'm sure.

cgkoon
2007 WK 3.0L CRD, Quadradrive II, GDE EcoTune, DPF-Delete,
EHM MOD,
mathetes is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 12-16-2014, 08:03 AM
safe+fit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
The original is slightly different than the replacement, in appearance anyways. I'm not sure if it is more efficient or durable? However it certainly sounds like it does need to changed.
safe+fit is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-16-2014, 09:09 AM Thread Starter
VANCRD
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VANCOUVER
Posts: 34
OK guys, thanks. Guess I will just bite the bullet and try a new module. Hope that is the problem.
VANCRD is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-16-2014, 11:45 AM
furiousbudy
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: lazo
Posts: 100
It will solve your problem, happened to me too!

2008 Grand Cherokee CRD Limited 185,000KM, Kendall 5W40 Euro
2007 18CK Pionneer Travel Trailer
furiousbudy is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-16-2014, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
VANCRD
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VANCOUVER
Posts: 34
Hi furious buddy. Same problem? Code on plugs but no code on module? Thanks for the reply and hope you're right!
VANCRD is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 03-03-2015, 07:30 AM
08CanuckCRD
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 167
I'm likely in the same boat with my 2008 CRD Limited. 174000km on it, still running 4 factory original plugs, so I guess they don't owe anyone anything! Had one replaced last Fall (Mopar) and one just last month (Bosch).

Yesterday the CEL came on; pulled codes; indicated Glow Plug #6 open circuit. Double checked with multimeter at module end of wiring to confirm. So either the new Bosch plug or the wiring running to it are faulty. Having it looked at today.

My guess is the module, as I don't think plugs should fail so quickly (remember I'm still running with 4 originals). Taking the WK to an independent Mercedes tech I just found locally. Hope he knows more than the Chrysler twits - I have to remind them every visit that the CRD is a DIESEL engine..... sigh.

2008 WK Grand Cherokee Limited 3.0L CRD TurboDiesel, QDII, Stock 245/60R18
08CanuckCRD is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-03-2015, 08:02 AM
Red_liner740
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tottenham
Posts: 361
When my module failed i got no module codes, i got Glow plug #2 even after replacing it.
Red_liner740 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 03-03-2015, 09:02 AM
traitor5150
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 387
This is the same module they use on the first 2 generations of duramax and they fail there too.
traitor5150 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-03-2015, 10:37 AM
oldsmoke
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by traitor5150 View Post
This is the same module they use on the first 2 generations of duramax and they fail there too.
Very interesting since I did have to replace the glow plug module on my 04 Duramax. Still original plugs as far as I know with 210,000Kms.

Diesel Ecotune-DPF, 32" tires, 2" lift. 4xGuard bib, tow hooks
oldsmoke is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-06-2015, 12:02 AM
Palak
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 47
Curious as well.. I have a feeling my module may be causing issues...
I have seen on other forums here to go through MB for this part.. it's 9x out of 10 cheaper there...
The new style unit has a different PN# if I remember correctly.. but giving them the old should still bring up the new... if it doesn't look any different than yours, look for a dealer/seller who has a new one and not just old stock.
Palak is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 03-06-2015, 06:22 AM
SSF556
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 3,373
Here is an online source for the module...

http://www.benzpartswholesale.com/OE...429005801.html

Silver WK Club Member #1
2008 CRD QT2
SSF556 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 03-08-2015, 10:33 AM
oldsmoke
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 450
Thanks guys. My Jeep has been running a little rough on startup lately although I have no fault codes showing. I will start shopping for a new module but the looney is down to .80 on the greenback these days and there are no deals online shopping in the US. The factory one sucked so may as well try the aftermarket.

Diesel Ecotune-DPF, 32" tires, 2" lift. 4xGuard bib, tow hooks
oldsmoke is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 12-01-2015, 09:11 PM
omsok
Overland Prep
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: ste julie
Posts: 144
Did it work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VANCRD View Post
Hi furious buddy. Same problem? Code on plugs but no code on module? Thanks for the reply and hope you're right!
@vancrd

Give us a hint. Did it work? Did you buy a new module?

Where? MB or Mopar?
Price?

omsok is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome