fuel pump/fuel gauge issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > fuel pump/fuel gauge issues

Savvy FREE SHIPPING!Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Artec Holiday Sale!

Unread 08-24-2014, 06:01 PM   #1
GreaSeaMonkey
2005 WK 

fuel pump/fuel gauge issues

hello all i have a 05 GC limited 5.7, i recently had to get my heads re done im a boat mechanic and rebuilt many engines that has similar mpi setups plus i got a manual for it and helped alot so i felt confident enough to tackle this on my own and id take it to a dealership but not here they charge you out rearend and you cant get answers from them unless you let them take it in. anyways after all that i get my heads back and start putting it all back together. got finished with that and checked all connections made sure there tightened like a good mechanic should and put all new fluids everything. as i crank it everything sounds good like it first did when i bought it but i noticed my fuel pump wasnt making the noise it should and my gas guage moves a hair (i filled it almost completely before it sat). i know to check my fuses they are all good inside and out and checked my relays by jumping them to the battery to c if theyre clicking, they working, so im thinkg just a bad fuel pump bc how long it was sitting. i dropped the tank and there was fuel in the tank bout 15gallons after siphoning so i thought the whole fuel pump module assembly wasnt working. but out of kicks i put jump wires to it straight to battery and it kicks on so i just started laughing after all this work and droppin the tank. now im thinking i have a bad connection or i did somthing wrong in hooking up all the electrical connectors back up, but i have ocd in that