Expanded Sheet Grille mod - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Expanded Sheet Grille mod

Rugged Ridge 8500lb Winch w/ Steel Cable $294.99 Shipped OSmittybilt Products at Oconee Off-Road!Building a Bumper?

Unread 10-06-2011, 12:43 AM   #1
R4TCHET
2005 WK 

Expanded Sheet Grille mod

this is my first build/mod thread so be patient

I saw a picture of a jeep some time some place and it looked like it had an grille like this (not the overland grille). so i had this crazy idea to make this happen.

Supplies:
Drill with drill bits, something to cut plastic and metal with (wire cutters are perfect), loctite (recommended but optional), 8 carriage bolts (about 2 inches long) with matching standard nuts, a flat head screw driver, and large enough washers to stop the nut from slipping through the expanded sheet.

first i bought 2 "sheets" if you will of expanded sheet metal from Lowes for about $20 per sheet

to be specific

first after buying i decided a black finish will look better and stop it from rusting (yes it rusts). so i found some old all purpose black gloss spray paint, i believe it was rust oleum.

(i partly cut it already, enjoy the feet in pic too )

first remove the grille from the jeep by taking out all of those pushpin things and it should just come right off.
now you must take the grille cover (the painted part) off the grille to get to the "inserts". There are several little snap things that hold the cover to the grille, and a flat head screw driver does the best to separate the cover from the grille. I believe there is about 1 per side on the inside of the slots and 4 or 5 on the edges of the grille.
(no pic but easy to figure out if you look at the grille)