JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/)
-   -   Drag link/Alignment Issue (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f67/drag-link-alignment-issue-1432408/)

WKFusion 10-28-2012 12:41 PM

Drag link/Alignment Issue

3 Attachment(s)
:tea:
Morning! Well afternoon now..

Story: Went offroading a week ago, at a pretty moderate place, that is local; long story short ended up hitting a rut a little too hard-- opened up the seal on my front right tire (bead) and threw my alignment (along with my steering location) off significantly. I must admit it was the best off roading experience I have ever had...the results lead to a loss in my pocket $$$ :laugh:

Problem: I need help finding the drag link ( I have no experience with suspension/steering ), I was able to get underneath the truck today and I believe I might have found it. I also went to belle tire to get an alignment and they were unable to service my truck because of a "seized bolt" on the lower control arm--they refused to be specific.
I need help with restoring my vehicle back to ground zero!

Thanks! :drool:

hopefully this can be useful for some others as well

WKFusion 10-29-2012 07:36 PM

Does anyone recommended a shop?

tjkj2002 10-29-2012 08:16 PM

1st you don't have a drag link.

Sounds like,a from the looks of the pics, you have seized bolts and/or tie rod end and jam nut.Happens when you don't wash the undercarriage at least once every 2 weeks in the winter with salt use.Just have them replace the parts and get a alignment.Any shop can do this job.

WKFusion 10-30-2012 12:11 AM

I can do it all myself, the problem is I can't identify what's faulty and what's not.
Thanks a lot for the response!!!

yzjwk 10-30-2012 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WKFusion (Post 14377962)
I can do it all myself, the problem is I can't identify what's faulty and what's not.
Thanks a lot for the response!!!