digital thermometer - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > digital thermometer

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineAttention to the TJ owners 1996-2006 NEW LED LIGHT OPTIONSBds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rock

Reply
Unread 02-16-2006, 02:12 PM   #1
stephen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 108
digital thermometer

Anyone else notice that it take awhile for the digital thermometer display to adjust to the correct temperture? For example, when i pull out of my garage where it is in the mid-60's to outside where it is in the mid-40's, it takes about 5 minutes to adjust.

I am wondering if there is some factory packaging/protective pieces around the thermometer housing that might be insulating it. Anyone know where the actual thermometer is on the commander?

stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2006, 06:38 PM   #2
JeepFreak91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,112
i hear before (on a gc) that it takes several minuets to adjust at a certain speed to get an accurate reading but i could be wrong
JeepFreak91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2006, 06:55 PM   #3
stephen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 108
makes sense, but typically I am only going 10-20 miles per hour in the neighborhood
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2006, 10:01 PM   #4
SYCOHEMI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 517
My wife's Cayenne S is the same way with the temp. It's always wildly off for 10 minutes or so, at the onset of coming out of the enclosed garage. I guess it takes some time for it to adjust.
__________________
'06 Commander Ltd, 5.7L Hemi, QDII, Midnight Blue, Gibson Exhaust, Raingler Net, K&N FIPK, Remote Start, Optima Yellow, Skid plates & Tow Hooks, Rocky Road 2.25 Lift, New Rear DT Shocks, 265/70R17 REVO's, 6061-T6 Custom Wheel Adapters, 4xGuard Rock Rails/Steps
'05 Land Rover LR3 SE

Last edited by SYCOHEMI; 02-18-2006 at 12:34 AM..
SYCOHEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2006, 11:12 PM   #5
stephen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 108
that seems like such a crazy design flaw...especially for a porsche. anyone know where the temp sensor is?
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2006, 11:53 PM   #6
INTREPER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 67
facing the front of the jeep, the sensor is located directly behind the grill on the left hand side. It is very accesible. The sensor takes a few minutes to adjust because it sits behind the grill in an open space. THat entire space has to get to temp before it can give a proper reading. So after you drive around for a few minutes it gets it right. Hope that made some sense.
__________________
Why can't Jeeps and Hummers get along?
INTREPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2006, 07:53 PM   #7
stephen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 108
great explanation..thanks!
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2006, 05:41 AM   #8
Bing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Actually, my thermometer seems to be just about right.
I've checked it with local weather reports and my outdoor clock/thermometer
and it seems to be pretty close...+/_ 3 degrees or so.
Bing is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-26-2006, 06:34 PM   #9
Rehasher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4
my commander does the same, as did my neon before it.
Rehasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-2006, 06:01 PM   #10
stephen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 108
update on the temp gauge........ took my commander in for its 3000 mile check up. i saw the TSB on the temp gauge being slightly off, so I mentioned my problem to the service guy (the problem was that it took several minutes to adjust to the new temperature when i pulled out of the garage). ends up the sensor was set to relay temp info every ten minutes. the service guy set it to 2 minute relay intervals. it working much better now
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.