Daytime Running Lights - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 04:58 AM Thread Starter
hdsport
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hills of Pa.
Posts: 376
Daytime Running Lights

Recently got my '08 JGC Limited and have NOT seen the Running Headlights "ON".
I have to turn the selector knob to 'ON' so I have day Lights.
Any advice about the 'Running Lights' would be appreciated.

If it is an option, maybe I don't have it....This unit is loaded so I would expect it does have them??????

Thanks.


2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32v Motor Home
2008 Jeep GC Limited Toad, 4.7 L V-8, QTII
US Army Vet, 8th Army, 11th Evac SMBL Hospital, Pusan, South Korea
In God We Trust
hdsport is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 06:17 AM
yzjwk
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lac du Bonnet
Posts: 1,221
They can be activated by the dealer i believe . One of the only differences between a CDN WK and US WK is the day time running lights and as far as i know there is no seperate module like on previous Grand Cherokees .
good luck

5 and counting :05 WK 5.7 HEMI
90 YJ Islander 4.2L
94 ZJ Ltd 5.2 ,00 WJ 4.0
2010 MK Patriot
yzjwk is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 03:16 PM
lekmedm
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Annandale, NJ
Posts: 79
Keep in mind that the lights only come on when you are in gear. At least, that's how it is on my XK.

2007 Commander Overland / 4" SuperLift / 285/70R17 Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx / + other great stuff
lekmedm is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 05:09 PM
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
The country code of the FCM (CGW) needs to be changed to Canada then DRL needs to be enabled in the "Misc Functions" menu.
You can do this with a Starscan, Starmobile or Witech scan tool. If you don't have one handy its a dealer visit.
MeanGreenZJ is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
hdsport
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hills of Pa.
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeanGreenZJ View Post
The country code of the FCM (CGW) needs to be changed to Canada then DRL needs to be enabled in the "Misc Functions" menu.
You can do this with a Starscan, Starmobile or Witech scan tool. If you don't have one handy its a dealer visit.
I'm having a locksmith coming to progam a new FOB.....would he have this capability????

Thanks.

2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32v Motor Home
2008 Jeep GC Limited Toad, 4.7 L V-8, QTII
US Army Vet, 8th Army, 11th Evac SMBL Hospital, Pusan, South Korea
In God We Trust
hdsport is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 06:12 PM
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
If the locksmith has a factory scan tool then sure, but most locksmiths use locksmith hardware like hotwire which does not go too far outside the realm of key and fob programming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdsport View Post
I'm having a locksmith coming to progam a new FOB.....would he have this capability????

Thanks.
MeanGreenZJ is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-18-2013, 06:21 PM
05JGCWK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: bloom
Posts: 32
I was just trying to figure this out...I did notice that with the e-brake pulled the lights turn off, else they are on.
05JGCWK is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-19-2013, 03:42 AM
Lustra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 69
You will find this on all car with factory DRL


Quote:
Originally Posted by 05JGCWK View Post
I was just trying to figure this out...I did notice that with the e-brake pulled the lights turn off, else they are on.
_______________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfieZJ
We may have gotten off to a bad start , but , you are one ignorant SOB
Yes , the mileage is stored in the PCM , it's only available through a DRB scan, it is irrelevant to 99% of jeepers
What about the other 1%?

________________________________

Silly Hillbilly
Lustra is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-21-2013, 04:26 AM Thread Starter
hdsport
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hills of Pa.
Posts: 376
Just checked the Build Sheet that That I got from Chrysler and there is NOT a DRL listed.

So, I guess I don't have the Daytime Running Lights.

Any ideas of how much the Dealer will charge for this programming?

Thanks

PS: I may just turn the Light Knob to "ON" and save a few bucks!!!!!!!!

2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32v Motor Home
2008 Jeep GC Limited Toad, 4.7 L V-8, QTII
US Army Vet, 8th Army, 11th Evac SMBL Hospital, Pusan, South Korea
In God We Trust
hdsport is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-21-2013, 05:17 PM
Lustra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 69
Depending on the dealer, half an hour to and hour of shop rate.




Quote:
Originally Posted by hdsport View Post
Just checked the Build Sheet that That I got from Chrysler and there is NOT a DRL listed.

So, I guess I don't have the Daytime Running Lights.

Any ideas of how much the Dealer will charge for this programming?

Thanks

PS: I may just turn the Light Knob to "ON" and save a few bucks!!!!!!!!

_______________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfieZJ
We may have gotten off to a bad start , but , you are one ignorant SOB
Yes , the mileage is stored in the PCM , it's only available through a DRB scan, it is irrelevant to 99% of jeepers
What about the other 1%?

________________________________

Silly Hillbilly
Lustra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome