CRD starting problems - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
hmm sounds good thanks for the info, ill PM him now


2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:00 PM
jediknight
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 658
A while ago i've read somewhere that the volkswagon tdi series under bosch edc16 ecu are known to have similiar issue called hot start issue. It is solved by an update on the ecu done at the dealership, but ! this would be a premier if it happends to the jeep crd also... So i dont think this could be your issue.

SKIM module (where you plug you key in) could also act funny like that.

Finaly starter / starter relay.

If you have a tune try reload ori and see what happends, but like i said i'll be surprise that it has something to do with the tune.

2008 WK CRD Blue, QD II, Startech SD6 mod.
jediknight is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:03 PM
fishinbama
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 717
Oh yes, I remember that now. Almost had forgotten it. I'm trying to remember what I did to blow that relay. I remember there were some other random things that were on that circuit also.

2007 limited crd 2wd, 3.07 ratio, GDE eco tune, dpf delete, BuilderBill valve body
2013 VW Passat tdi, 6m
2005 GMC crew cab 5.3
fishinbama is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
yea starter relay is $14 so i might change it anyways...

i should see about reloading my tune, i emailed Keith and he hasnt heard of anyone having problems..

i remote started this morning and tried to take a video but for some reason it wouldnt record sound lol
ill remote start again tomorrow and see if it starts fine then maybe start with the actual key

i have heard that sometimes the truck has a hard time getting signal from the key causing it to crank for a prolonged time..

so many possibilities!

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #20 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:12 PM
jediknight
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 658
Oh ... Is your issue only when using wireless start ? If so this could also be WCM

2008 WK CRD Blue, QD II, Startech SD6 mod.
jediknight is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
it might be only when i start with key..but who knows? might be a random time it starts up fine when i use remote start..

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #22 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
its not always a long crank before it starts, sometimes its 1 second and rare times its more...

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #23 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:28 PM
jediknight
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 658
Can also be air filter ...

2008 WK CRD Blue, QD II, Startech SD6 mod.
jediknight is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 06-12-2013, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
yea i forgot to look at that, changed the fuel filter...

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #25 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 11:06 AM
Radcrd
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 371
Are you parking on a slope? VW TDI's had an issue with Fuel filter fittings sucking air. If you were parked on a slope with the nose up air would suck into the system and all the fuel would make its way back to the tank. Resulting in long / hard start until the fuel lines refilled themselves. Make sure the filter fittings are not sucking air.

2007 WK CRD QDII, GDE HOT tune. 275/55/18'' on Sahara's, SRT8 suspension.
2000 Jetta TDI (hers)
2006 Liberty CRD (sold)
3 VW TDI's (sold)
Radcrd is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
Just did filter and tightened everything
But ill double check


No parkin on hills

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #27 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
P1648 soft code
Which seems to be glow plug module


No cel on the dash but with my gde tool picked up the code
Wonder how hard that is to change??

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #28 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
or apparently could be:

P1648 Battery Condition Monitor (BCM) Module Communication Signal Circuit Problem
P1648 Motor Control Module (MCM) Communication Signal Circuit Problem
or something with my key? but even remote start had a long crank this morning

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
post #29 of 31 Old 06-14-2013, 09:28 AM
jediknight
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDiesel
P1648 soft code
Which seems to be glow plug module

No cel on the dash but with my gde tool picked up the code
Wonder how hard that is to change??
Not hard at all there's actually a youtube video for this ...

2008 WK CRD Blue, QD II, Startech SD6 mod.
jediknight is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 06-14-2013, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
TurboDiesel
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: langley
Posts: 2,331
yea looks crazy easy
i hear theres a glow plug relay somewhere but cant find anything about it online
once i figure out if there is or not
ill either replace said relay or replace the module...

2008 CRD // GDE Eco // DPF delete // 3" intercooler // OME HD // 265 dirtytracs etc.
TurboDiesel is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome