Commander WK ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Commander WK ?

BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!XJ Rail Sale!

Unread 08-21-2014, 09:05 AM   #1
BlueRidge92

Commander XK ?

I'm new to the Jeep vehicles as I recently purchased a 2006 Jeep Commander. I love this vehicle, however I would like to know has anyone removed the lower seals from the door to prevent the water from collecting on it and eventually spilling over into the floor board? I understand this vehicle to have two seals on the doors because it was designed to ford small streams and creeks. I certainly don't plan on doing that so I don't think it would be a problem with removing the seal that is attached to the door and just leave the one on the jam. Any thoughts concerning this problem?

BlueRidge92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-21-2014, 10:29 AM   #2
colinzj
2006 WK 

Water should not be collecting on the seal (I'm having trouble even envisioning that; the seals don't really have a surface on which anything can collect) or spilling into the vehicle. If it is, the better solution would be to figure out why and address that. Can you post pictures?

As a first step, make sure the seal are attached tightly to the door—they can come loose from their mounting pins, which can block the drains, which can prevent the door from draining properly.

Removing them altogether will net you a noisier, draftier vehicle.
Unread 08-21-2014, 11:15 AM   #3
Mitkch
2007 WK 

^ That.

If you want a whistle coming from your door when you drive go for it.
Black WK Club #138
Mitkch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message