Backup Lamps out after backup cam install - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > Backup Lamps out after backup cam install

All Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 11-19-2013, 03:39 PM   #1
voxanBoxer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 2
Backup Lamps out after backup cam install

2006 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 3.7V6
So I installed a backup cam. I spent 3 days meticulously putting this thing in. I tested six times throughout the process and the camera worked fine: put it in Reverse and the image appears on the screen. I even mounted and adjusted the camera. Everything worked fine. I was finished and put all the panels back in the car. While i was testing the lights to make sure nothing was out my daughter noticed the backup lamps came on for a second and immediately went out.

Now, I no longer have backup lights and I don't get a video feed trigger (so no power).

I researched my butt off trying to figure what happened. I searched for a fuse for the lamps but there isn't one besides the main lamp fuse, but all of the other rear lights work. So I thought it might be in the transmission.

I took it to the dealer and paid $100 to diagnose the problem. They said it is the Front Control Module, but only the part that deals with the back up lamps. They also said there is no fuse for the FCM. I now have to pay $650 to replace the entire FCM. I can't believe a fuse doesn't protect the FCM!

Does this sound right? A tiny backup camera can blow PART of a computer? This camera can't draw much power.

voxanBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-19-2013, 04:31 PM   #2
voxanBoxer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 2
And.... YES I hooked it up right. I even had the dealer check it to see if I caused the problem by hooking it up wrong. They said everything looked good.
voxanBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
backup lights

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.