2005 WK 5.7L - P0520 Check Engine Code - Oil Pressure Sensor - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-23-2013, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
mroho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 4
2005 WK 5.7L - P0520 Check Engine Code - Oil Pressure Sensor

Hello All,

Just had my my check engine light come on my 2005 GCJ 5.7 HEMI, had it scanned to find out I got the P0520 check engine code. Figuring I need a new oil pressure sensor, I sent to the parts store to buy a new one. When attemping to buy a new one, they asked if I had a oil pressure light or gauge (have a light), then they asked if I had the 1-wire sensor or 3-wire sensor. I attempted to look for the oil pressure sensor but couldnt find it, can someone help me? They gave me a diagram but that didn't help much. Does someone have an actual picture they can post on here?

Thank you.
Mike

mroho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-24-2013, 02:55 AM
w1pf
Who, me?
 
w1pf's Avatar
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amherst
Posts: 754
5.7 has a 3-wire sensor. Parts guy should have known this from his catalog, so I wonder how competent he is.
Attached Thumbnails
57oilpressure.jpg  

2014 WK2 Overland 5.9L
2007 WK Limited 5.7L
And some past Durangos
Red WK #19, Hemi #68.. I think..
Durango Owners Club DOTY 2011
-------
"Must have been that yesterday was the day that I was born"
w1pf is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-24-2013, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
mroho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 4
Thanks w1pf,

That diagram is a little different than the one I got, that will help.

The parts guy said that that his computer showed both the 1 and 3 wire sensors for the 5.7. Guuess he was wrong.

Thanks again.
Mike
mroho is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-13-2013, 01:29 PM
Csfishbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Oil pres sw

Does the oil need to be drained to change the oil pressure sensor?
Csfishbo is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-10-2014, 11:06 AM
Jeepforthewin
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csfishbo View Post
Does the oil need to be drained to change the oil pressure sensor?
Im curious about this too as i will be swapping my oil pressure sensor out soon. Im assuming it needs to be drained but if it doesnt need to be then hey less work!

2010 JKU - Stock for now
2005 WK - 6" lift, 35" BFG's, a lot more (SOLD)
Jeepforthewin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-11-2014, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
mroho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 4
The oil does not need to be drained. If I can remember correctly (it's been a while), I think maybe a little bit of oil came out when I remove the sensor, but it is fairly high on the engine.

Thanks,
Mike
mroho is offline  
Reply

Tags
hemi , oil , oil pressure , sensor

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome