05 WK 5.7 spark plugs - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > 05 WK 5.7 spark plugs

ECGS Fall Sale - 10% Off EVERYTHING!!Gear Packages Available! Your # 1 Diff Shop is ROCKRIDGE 4ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 02-26-2011, 08:56 PM   #1
geoffh
2005 WK 

05 WK 5.7 spark plugs

how difficult is it to change 05 WK 5.7 spark plugs? I have the recommended copper 570 champion spark plugs... im an aircraft mechanic but im usually reluctant to do work on my own stuff. I got a an estimate from a place in town and they quoted me at $300 just for the spark plug maintenance. Ridiculous!

geoffh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2011, 09:25 PM   #2
Walt
2008 WK 

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffh View Post
how difficult is it to change 05 WK 5.7 spark plugs? I have the recommended copper 570 champion spark plugs... im an aircraft mechanic but im usually reluctant to do work on my own stuff. I got a an estimate from a place in town and they quoted me at $300 just for the spark plug maintenance. Ridiculous!
Not difficult. Need 1/4" drive metric socket set and 3/8" drive metric socket set, including 5/8" spark plug socket. Torque wrench for 10-15 ft-lb on plugs and gap tool for 0.043". Buy a tube of dielectric grease for plug boots.

Sears has these: Stock nos. 009-44596 and 009-42274 in the tool catalog. Just used them. The K-D plug socket set worked exceptionally well.

Will take you ~1.5 hrs first time. Go slow and do 1 cylinder at a time.
HEMI CLUB MEMBER #45; SILVER WK CLUB MEMBER #13
'08 WK GC Limited. 5.7L HEMI. Quadra-Trac II. Bright Silver Metallic. Class IV hitch.
Michelin LTX M/S tires. Fumoto oil drain valve. Billet Technology oil catch can.