Not a Jeep Owner Yet but Getting Close What do I get? - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By azzkicker
  • 1 Post By mrsig

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-16-2017, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Cubsfanforlife

Garage
Not a Jeep Owner Yet but Getting Close What do I get?

Hello Everyone. I have been looking for a Jeep for about 6 months and have wanted one my whole life. I am getting closer and closer to pulling the trigger but I am trying to figure out what works best for me. I am a teacher and want to spend the summers riding the trails. I am currently looking for an 03-06 Rubicon. What do you all think? How Much do I need to save up? Thanks for welcoming a newbie to the forum.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-16-2017, 07:27 PM
azzkicker
2007 WK 

Welcome to the forum! I'll let others answer about the price of a Rubicon, since I don't have one, but welcome.

Some general thoughts:

Stock is reliable (relatively). The farther you get from stock, the more you have designed your own reliability. I don't care what anybody says; lifting or creating more power is less reliable than stock. If you want to replace every single component with a stronger aftermarket one, you'll still miss something until it breaks.

Off-roading is expensive. The tougher the trails, or the faster you go, the more expensive it gets. A lead foot needs a gold wallet.

The more you can fix yourself the cheaper it gets.

Stock rubicons with an aggressive tread are deceptively capable. You won't be a youtube star, but you'll get more places than you might imagine.

My dad always said he never sold a rig that didn't need sold. That's not to say you can't buy a good used rig, but expect to find out early all the stuff the previous owner didn't want to take care of while they were planning to buy another one. It may seem worse than it is at first.