After decades of wanting a Jeep... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > Introductions > After decades of wanting a Jeep...

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 11-22-2013, 10:51 AM   #1
heffay
1994 YJ Wrangler 

After decades of wanting a Jeep...

I finally bought one!

The wife and I traded her Saturn, my 83 Honda 250r 3-wheeler, and a bit-o-cash for what I think is a pretty sweet 1994 4-banger YJ. In the Phoenix area, the 113k miles it has on it are low. I swore I'd never get a square headlight Jeep, but once I saw it, I forgot about that.

I'm new to the Jeep world, except for having a J-20 which is an entirely different beast. I'm not sure of a lot of things about the new Wrangler, but I would imagine the gurus will be able to eyeball it and give me some good info. I'll post pics as I'm able to get them of certain parts. It is rainy today so can't get any right now, but I'll use the ones I have so far.

The engine runs nice and smooth, no additional noises. The 5 speed is a nice improvement over some of the 3 and 4 speed CJs that I've driven, although being a bit underpowered and running 33s, 5th gear is somewhat rare.

My main complaint is a loud body-flex popping noise coming from the body which has some cracks/breakage at the mount below the passenger's feet. I'll need to get that welded up and fixed so I don't go bat **** crazy.