Work in progress...1983 Wagoneer 258 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > Work in progress...1983 Wagoneer 258

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under

Unread 06-11-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
algomez
1983 FSJ Wagoneer 

Work in progress...1983 Wagoneer 258

I've been working on a complete motor rebuild, so at about $1100.00 later this is where it stands.

I am still a total Jeep noob as my dad gave me this Waggy as a gift. But I am learning as I go. My plan is to give it right back to him when I'm done with it (hopefully this year).

The next big thing I need to tackle is the tranny (999). The car would take a while to go into reverse and when it did there was a strange sound. Going forward was fine. Any ideas here? Am I looking into a rebuild?

Anyhow, thank you all for your help and good reading here.

-A

eng1.jpg   eng2.jpg   eng3.jpg  
algomez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-11-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
Oldgray76

Looks Great! Just so happens I rehabing a 83' 258 myself for my 76' Cherokee. Mine was pretty clean and the guy I got it from said it had about 78k on it.I'm just doing a general teardown and spraybomb so I doubt mine will look as good as yours.
Oldgray76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-12-2012, 12:33 AM   #3
algomez
1983 FSJ Wagoneer 

Thanks! It's sure been quite an educational experience for me. I did a long block rebuild. I hope this thing doesn't smoke.

I have to keep an eye out for a 999 tranny now.

Good luck with your build!
Unread 06-12-2012, 10:22 PM   #4
Oldgray76