Please Help! Suspension Question? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > Please Help! Suspension Question?

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 05-27-2011, 10:32 AM   #1
ritzrocket
2001 XJ Cherokee 

Please Help! Suspension Question?

I was recently told at Pep Boys that my inner tie rod end was bad. I was getting my tires balanced to get rid of a shake between 40 and 60 mph or when I apply the brakes. So, I believe the tie rod issues to be real. Because I plan on adding a lift kit and other mods, I'd like to replace everything I can in the front with MOOG. SO is there a total replacement kit for tie rod ends, pittman arm etc....? Help please! I'm a rookie at automobile stuff....thanks!

I own a 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport (box style) 4.0 V6

ritzrocket is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-27-2011, 11:39 AM   #2
suddendeath
1989 FSJ Wagoneer 

Try asking in the XJ cherokee forum. This is the Full Size Jeep area, for Grand Wagoneers, J-Trucks, and Cherokee Chiefs.

Just because you're lifting doesnt mean you need to drop $500 on all moog tie rod ends and such. You're going to end up paying for that name brand. I'd replace the one thats bad and then just move on with life. If the added stress of a lifted suspension and big tires is going to kill a tie rod end, its going to kill it regardless. And a proper lift, done with the proper steering mods, won't put undue stress on your TRE's.
suddendeath is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-27-2011, 10:42 PM   #3
ritzrocket
2001 XJ Cherokee 

Thank you very much. Sounds like sound advise. Have an awesome holiday weekend!
Unread 05-27-2011, 11:07 PM   #4
Eric1080
1978 J-Series Truck