JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Full Size Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f57/)
-   -   plans for Gladiator.. input please (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f57/plans-gladiator-input-please-1519927/)

gsxtasee 05-07-2013 08:19 AM

plans for Gladiator.. input please

I'm new to modding jeeps but LOVE modding/racing stuff and running stuff over so I'm learning as I go about jeeps and V8 stuff in general as I am a EFI/turbo kind of guy.

Ive got this '63 gladiator I scored and am LOVING it! I found a set of F&R axles from a 78 J20 with Front disc brakes and obviously, matching gear ratios which I assume should work fine with whatever ratio my trans & tcase are since they would be going into the same ratio diff's..

the J200 has a I6 in it already that was swapped from around a 77 or so CJ I'm told and it has D44 front & rear axles with the front being closed knuckles. I'm looking into the F&R axle swap for the disc brakes, better suspension options, and less hassle in the closed-knuckle arena as far as I am understanding so far.

I also have a line on the 360V8 I posted in a different thread and want to rebuild it since I've never done a full rebuild before but have always wanted to but my other engines all cost WAAAY too much for me to try my hand as a novice builder.. I'm planning to do moderate build on it, raise compression just a hair and then likely add some turbo's later into the mix just cuz I turbo everything :)

I would love input on these ideas as well as recommendations as to how/what trans & Tcase to mate with this engine and my Gladiator body. I'll certainly lift the truck just a bit but I'm not into having a rope-ladder needed for ingress/egress from my truck LOL.

Thks for the space guys. I hope to get to meet some of you at local-ish/SE regional events.

revelc 05-11-2013 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gsxtasee