Noob to FSJ here - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-09-2010, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
usmc_mwroseberr

Noob to FSJ here

Hello gentlemen,

I am a noob to the FSJ. I had a 01 TJ that was lost because of divorce. Then an 02 Land Rover Discovery that I couldn't keep the engine together on. Now with a wife, small child, and my gun habit to feed I was looking for a firewood/winter truck. Stumbled upon a 77 Wagoneer with a 401 and quadratrac for $500.00 and jumped on it.

The guy didn't know what he was doing because the ride home the front shocks and swaybar were disconnected so it was interesting to say the least and the vacume advance was not hooked up from the distributer. It's only got 88k miles on it but it's been sitting and rust has claimed her. So I have major rust repair to do.

So far I've got cheap shocks, sway bar bushings, steering stabolizer bar, plugs, wires, headlights. Carb is being cleaned and rebuilt as we speak. Someone put 4" blocks in the back probably because the rear shocks look so worn they probably needed them to keep the rear tires from rubbing.

So my current wish list is:
Rough country lift kit with front and rear springs
Bushwacker flares
33" rubber
replace rocker panels with 4"x6" square tube steel for replacement rockers/frame sliders

Is this a good direction to go or do you guys have other recommendations. Also what are problems I need to look for?

And finally what should I do about my half way up back glass?

Thanks,
Merritt

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 04-09-2010, 10:47 PM
CutterN55
1986 CJ7 

Get aquainted with IFSJA.org. Many of your questions have been covered A LOT. You'll find some good info in the Tech library. The Bush Whackers may look funny w/ 33's. I've already been talked out of them. I'm going with some welded on wide trac flares one of these days.