new to the forum and got a question. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > new to the forum and got a question.

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 11-18-2001, 07:53 PM   #1
rojogo

new to the forum and got a question.

Glad I found this forum. I am new to Jeep and I do not have a lot of knowledge about them. I have been an active member of a mercedes forum where most of my time and money has been going to fixin old diesels. Now I have an old Jeep that I would like to talk about.

It is an 83' Grand Wagoneer with 214k miles. The engine is strong but the 4X4 is unknown and the tranny I am not sure about either. It will not engage until fully warm. It runs and drives like a champ up to 80mph! It has no rust but has major interior issues and electric window and lock problems! All the window rubber is gone and water is starting to pour in. The rear window motor works but the window is out of the track and the track actually broke in 1/2! Overall it runs and drives good.

My main question is how do I operate the 4X4? I see a switch on the dash but it does not do anything. No 4x4! I have no clue about what could be wrong. Also how do I get a few inches of lift out of this thing. I do not want a skyscraper. Maybe just 2 or 3 inches. Could someone advise me?

Thanks in advance!

Unread 11-20-2001, 10:49 PM   #2
Mackddy6

OK, I'm pretty sure, that assuming you have a auto, you have fulltime 4 wheel drive. If that is the case, you have the Quadratrac transfercase, which is pretty damn good. The knob on your dash will operate your 4-low. Hope this helps.
Mackddy6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message