I thought I had my hands on a set of axles for my Waggy... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > I thought I had my hands on a set of axles for my Waggy...

Rear Disc Brake Conversion Kit- TJ,YJ,XJSWAG 50 Cal Ammo Can Mount With M2A1 Can~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 06-01-2014, 02:18 PM   #1
BugsInMyTeeth

1964 FSJ Wagoneer 

I thought I had my hands on a set of axles for my Waggy...

I found these;

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/pts/4489524040.html

Once I got back home I checked the BOM code. They're from a 78-79 Waggy.

I was going to trade the guy some older welding tanks and a Ruger 10/22 takedown for em. But when I got there and I started playing with the front I discovered that one of the u-joints was wasted as well as the axle bearing and seal. So I pulled the cover and only about a cup (or maybe half) of oil came out. Then I rotated the ring gear to find rust on about a dozen teeth.

So I walked away from it. I'd need to rebuild the whole thing; master rebuild kit, one or two u-joints, maybe gears and carrier, plus manual locking hubs, rotors and maybe calipers too.

My question to all you more experienced guys here at JF is;

if, and I mean IF I was to call the guy back, what do you suppose would be a descent CASH price for a good rear and a junk front axle?

edit; Sorry if I posted in the wrong section. Mods feel free to move the thread to another section.

...these Jeeps are breedin like rabbits 'round here.

Last edited by BugsInMyTeeth; 06-01-2014 at 10:16 PM..
BugsInMyTeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2014, 08:54 AM   #2
CSP

Seems like you're assuming too much. Some rust on the gearset doesn't mean it needs a master rebuild kit and gears.