Heater/Defroster problem - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > Heater/Defroster problem

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 12-15-2003, 09:20 PM   #1
Dave Locke

Heater/Defroster problem

Greetings!

I'm a newbie to this forum. I've just bought a rather well-preserved 1968 Kaiser Jeep Wagoneer four-wheel-drive with Warn lock-o-matics on it--and with approx 35,000 original miles. (Yep! this is the FIRST time around on the odometer! And there are enough documents to prove it! To say nothing of how it runs, which is like new. Also, NO rust anywhere. Rubber components granted are shot--and I also may need to do a valveguide seal job pretty soon!) It has the Rambler 327 ci 8 cylinder motor, coupled to an automatic tranny and manual transfer. For the most part things seem to be working rather well.

All in all, I'm finding it to be a wonderful car!

My chief problem now is that I cannot get the heater output to go to the defroster vents at the windshield. The appropriate button on the control cluster won't even stay in. The heater otherwise works admirably! The fan comes on, and other controls work normally.

Is this all done through manifold vacuum, which seems to be the case at a glance--or is it a matter of cabling? Do I need to be looking for a cracked vacuum line, or a missing or maladjusted cable?

I figure that it is best to ask those with experience before poking and prodding under the dash, and thus save some time standing on my head under there! Any light shed on this matter I will heartily appreciate!

Many thanks in advance!

Dave

Dave Locke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-21-2003, 06:13 PM   #2
bigchief

heater controls

Quote: