Fuel sending unit - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 01-18-2014, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
Fuel sending unit

Quick question about switching out my sending unit. Everything I read online says to stall the vehicle by removing the fuse to the pump to drain the lines of fuel when you remove it. Well since GW have an awesome access panel to the pump without having to drop the take can I just disconnect the wiring while it is running to bleed the lines so I don't spill any fuel?

Thanks for any help. I plan on starting my own thread for all my planned improvements/tinkering later with pics to help other nubs like me.

jamesmega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 01-18-2014, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
The unit and the wagoneer
Attached Images
   
jamesmega is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 01-18-2014, 06:29 PM
RockRollin
Registered User
1990 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Haven Mi
Posts: 1,327
If you disconnect the incoming line to the fuel pump, it should drain back to the tank. There really won't be much fuel stored in the lines either way though. Are you replacing the rubber lines while your in there.

"I like fun" Edd
Clawed: 90GW, TFI, Streetfire, 3"lift all spring, 31"BFG ATs, working RKE, Edel2131, Holly 1850, mild cam,
05 Renegade OME 927, 947, top plate, JBA 4.5s
"Just Jeepin it real"
RockRollin is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 01-18-2014, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
I hadn't planned on it yet. I don't have any hose. The fuel gauge doesn't register and I wanted to decrease my chances of running out of gas. I thought about doing that later and maybe replacing the tank too.
jamesmega is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
So I got my new sending unit from team grand wagoneer. I decided to test it first. All the connections connect well for my 88 GW. But it didn't solve my problem. The fuel gauge still doesn't move at all. Any suggestions?
jamesmega is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 09:39 AM
RockRollin
Registered User
1990 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Haven Mi
Posts: 1,327
Check power to the FSU. Multitester, or test light

"I like fun" Edd
Clawed: 90GW, TFI, Streetfire, 3"lift all spring, 31"BFG ATs, working RKE, Edel2131, Holly 1850, mild cam,
05 Renegade OME 927, 947, top plate, JBA 4.5s
"Just Jeepin it real"
RockRollin is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
I checked it before and I was getting ~12V. Need to check it again I apparently. It's snowing and I've got a big exam Friday. Guess it will have to wait. I was hoping it would be a "simple" fix. I'm guessing either the ground or the gauge, which they don't sell online for an 88 from what I've seen.
jamesmega is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 11:59 AM
RockRollin
Registered User
1990 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Haven Mi
Posts: 1,327
Very well could be ground, either at the FSU, or at the gauge. Do you have a meter?

"I like fun" Edd
Clawed: 90GW, TFI, Streetfire, 3"lift all spring, 31"BFG ATs, working RKE, Edel2131, Holly 1850, mild cam,
05 Renegade OME 927, 947, top plate, JBA 4.5s
"Just Jeepin it real"
RockRollin is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
I think one of my roommates has one at the house. I usually borrow them at the DIY garages I go to on base.
jamesmega is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 01-21-2014, 08:18 PM
gpcl16
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmega View Post
Quick question about switching out my sending unit. Everything I read online says to stall the vehicle by removing the fuse to the pump to drain the lines of fuel when you remove it.
Not sure what you're talking about. You should have a mechanical fuel pump, not an electric one.

1988 Jeep Grand Wagoneer V-8
Dana 44s 3.31, Rear TrueTrac
4" BDS All-Suspension Lift
gpcl16 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 01-23-2014, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
What I had watched online must have been from GMs with electric pumps. Regardless the gauge doesn't read testing with the new sending unit. I'll try getting to the gauge to clean connections this weekend to see if that's the issue.
jamesmega is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 01-31-2014, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
So this is where I'm at with trying to get to the fuel gauge. That's about all the wiggle room I have. There are two bundles of wires one round and one flat and the cable to the speedometer. I'm getting voltage to the FSU and have tried multiple grounds with the new unit but no change in the gauge.

Does anyone know what the next steps are to remove the cluster? I'm thinking this maybe way above my PMCS skill level.
Attached Images
 
jamesmega is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 01-31-2014, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
So I got that round connector off a little and the connections look pretty clean. Continuing to chase my white whale.
jamesmega is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 01-31-2014, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
jamesmega
Registered User
1988 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: College Park
Posts: 49
Another question, I ordered new fuel lines. Do I need to drop the tank or raise the wagoneer to replace? I can use a lift on base at the auto skills center if needed or if it makes it easier. Thanks for the input.
jamesmega is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 01-31-2014, 07:27 PM
RockRollin
Registered User
1990 FSJ Wagoneer 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Haven Mi
Posts: 1,327
You can get some slack for the speedo cable under the hood, enough to disconnect at the cluster. Determine which pin is going to the gauge, and check for power. The gauge cluster grounds to the dash frame, make sure your ground connection is good.

"I like fun" Edd
Clawed: 90GW, TFI, Streetfire, 3"lift all spring, 31"BFG ATs, working RKE, Edel2131, Holly 1850, mild cam,
05 Renegade OME 927, 947, top plate, JBA 4.5s
"Just Jeepin it real"
RockRollin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome