Carb rebuild - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > Carb rebuild

Rugged Ridge Modular XHD Snorkel Now for both 3.8L and 3.6RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 02-20-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
Njokela
1977 FSJ Wagoneer 

Carb rebuild

Hello everyone, I am brand new to fsj's having rescued one from a driveway here in Virginia beach. I was working on it today and put a new fuel filter on it because she would start and idle but cut out while driving. After I put the new in line filter in, fuel is leaking out of the fuel line to the lower part of the carb, and shooting out of the over flow port on the filter. I'm assuming rebuilding the carb and putting new lines in should resolve the problem. It's the 5.9l with the 2 barrel carb. Any help would be appreciated!!!!

Njokela is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-20-2013, 06:37 PM   #2
RockRollin
"Positive.....I think"

1990 FSJ Wagoneer 

Does the filter have a return line back to the tank
RockRollin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-20-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
Njokela
1977 FSJ Wagoneer 

This is going to seem dumb...the filter has one inlet, two outlet. One is level with the inlet tube, the other is lower, is that supposed to return to the tank? The guy I had it from had a piece of cut hose to it. If its supposed to be a return to the tank, where do I look for a missing line to put a new hose?
Unread 02-20-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
RockRollin
"Positive.....I think"

1990 FSJ Wagoneer