87 Wagoneer help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Full Size Jeep Forum > 87 Wagoneer help

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 02-02-2013, 07:08 AM   #1
kchaos

87 Wagoneer help

Hello, everyone! I'm pretty new to the jeepforum, but I've lurked for quite sometime for tips on repairs!

I bought my dream car- 87 Woody (Imelda), almost 3 years ago. She ran for awhile, then threw a rod. She's been sitting for the last 2 years and I'm ready to fix her up, finally! I'm pretty new to working on cars and have only ever worked on my 96 Grand Cherokee. I have 3 questions:

1) Aside from the engine, what are the first things that I need to look at/repair in order to get her road ready?

2) Believe me when I say that I do realize how ridiculous this question is. I'm not expecting to get 89 miles to the gallon, but she currently has an original AMC 360 and I hate to lose that, but I was lucky to get 8 miles to the gallon before she died. What is the best city driving gas mileage I can expect to get out of her without converting to fuel injection? What can I do to improve gas mileage?

3) I'd like to install 3rd row seating, and I'm torn between jump seats (to keep some of the cargo space) and a full 3rd row, can I get some opinions on that?

Thanks!

kchaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-02-2013, 07:53 AM   #2
olliehopnoodle
1982 FSJ Cherokee