Will turn but not catch - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-19-2017, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Startdmnyou

Will turn but not catch

Hi I'm very new to Jeeps. I just brought a 1987 Jeep Comanche 4.0 5 speed rwd with 116xxx miles on it. When I looked at it before I brought it, it started up without much trouble. Fast forward a couple days. I went down with a trailer to get it and it won't start anymore. The guy said he hadn't touched it since I was down a few days ago. It had spark, it had air but it just doesn't seem to be getting fuel. It'll crank but won't catch. Fuel pump hums when it's turned to on and I've let it do that 6 or 7 times before cranking then it sounds like it's just about to start and then it dies. I've changed out the fuel pressure regulator and it doesn't seem to be getting any pressure in the lines. I've also reworked the grounds and cleaned the electrical area but I still have no luck with it starting. I have a fuel pump that I can put in but was wondering if maybe the hoses are bad or maybe the electrical system is bad. There's a new fuel filter on it too. Thanks for the help. Also does anyone know how to replace the floor pans? I have a replacement but no idea what I should do to put it in

Attached Thumbnails
20170818_212908_1503184983032.jpg   20170818_190905_1503185079577.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-22-2017, 06:53 AM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler

1990 MJ Comanche 

Yikes!! Gotta love some people's wiring....

Just because you hear the pump it doesn't mean it is pumping. There is a rubber hose INSIDE the tank that swells, pops off, rots, splits etc.

If you own a Renix Jeep, you must check this out:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Jeep technical photos:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 Old 08-23-2017, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Startdmnyou