Stick shift ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > MJ Comanche Technical Forum > Stick shift ?

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSteinjager TJ tube doors

Reply
Unread 03-22-2008, 05:29 PM   #1
Camo Cj
Registered User
1981 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 18
Stick shift ?

I have a 91 comanchee that I put a stick shift in an now it wont start what the problem.....Any help would be greatly appreciated

Camo Cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2008, 07:49 PM   #2
Pete M
Registered User
1988 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S/E Michigan
Posts: 1,834
Need more details please. What year is the transmission? Did you reuse the CPS that the auto trans had?
Jeep on!
--Pete
__________________
-88 MJ; 4.0L, ex-2wd, TJ ax15/231, 78 Ford D44 w/spool, 9" w/posi, 33" trXus MTs, custom roll-bar/bumpers/etc.
Also an 86 MJ Metric ton and 2 '90 MJs
Projects/wheelin' pics: picturetrail.com/petermontie
My email: petermontie@hotmail.com
ComancheClub.com/forums
Pete M is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2008, 08:21 PM   #3
Camo Cj
Registered User
1981 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 18
Sorry for not many details...Try this tranny from same year cherroke the cpu is the one from the auto....I can get it to turn over if jump at starter but hit the key an notheing, tried bypasseing the neut. switch but notheing...hope this info helps alitle better
Camo Cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2008, 09:06 PM   #4
89blkcomanche
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: washington
Posts: 97
it has to be problems with the neutral safety switch, or the cpu wont work with that year
__________________
93' ZJ 4.0l 4x4 auto, trail rig, 6 kc's, green and gray, 3.73 swap, 32x11.50 bfg mudd terrain
89' comanche, 2.5L 80k original miles, single stage paint- sold
89blkcomanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-27-2008, 09:44 AM   #5
75SV1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,061
I think there are wiring isses between the auto and manual wiring harnesses. I'd probably ask on the Cherokee board. I know a few people have done this swap. Also, I think you need the computer from the 5 spd vehicle.
Tom
75SV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2008, 06:16 PM   #6
Snowplow
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Florida
Posts: 327
the neut switch should have 3 wires on it 2 of them have to be grounded and it should work then i did the swapp the other wire is the backup light if i remember correctly
Snowplow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.