stereo help in my 89 Comanche -
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > MJ Comanche Technical Forum > stereo help in my 89 Comanche

6th annual beat your wife to the credit cards sale!!Get ready!! CyberMonday deals are coming!!!Last few hours of great savings

Unread 04-30-2013, 09:36 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: louisburg, Kansas
Posts: 5
stereo help in my 89 Comanche

Hey I'm replacing an older stereo and my new one has a remote wire and it won't turn without the remote wire connected to the wiring harness. Which wire would it connect to in the wiring harness? Please help any input is appreciated.

ebair is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-01-2013, 10:50 PM   #2
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 11
Just put a new kenwood in mine yesterday. We messed with it for hours until we figured it out but does it say on the box that you have to connect that wire? Mine wasn't working until we combined the ignition wires from the receiver to the truck, and the positive to the truck. Then we fabricated our own negative with speaker wire and we were golden.
TCAdkins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-03-2013, 05:52 PM   #3
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: north bay/corbeil, ontario
Posts: 282
remote wire, is it blue....the older kenwoods used that blue wire to turn on/trigger the amps if used...
mj40 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-27-2013, 12:59 PM   #4
Registered User
1988 MJ Comanche 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Flagstaff, ARIZONA
Posts: 46
I recently had to mess with my aftermarket radio after a day of wheeling and it started popping fuses. After many hours I discovered a open port on the fuse panel labelled "Batt" or "Battery" I need a constant power source to keep the radio's memory so I ran the constant voltage wire to that port using one of these.
TrucksBootsNGun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools

Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.