jeep cherokee pcm -

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: omaha
Posts: 2
jeep cherokee pcm

i have a jeep cherokee that needs to have the pcm replaced. do i have to get it flashed to my vin or can i just switch it out with another one. it is a 2000. please help

chrisreusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 10-06-2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
1990 MJ Comanche 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: woodbury
Posts: 348
flashed to your vin?? not sure what you mean, but it shouldnt really matter if it is what i think it is. It comes preprogrammed with "default" settings and will "learn" ,if you will, how your engine operates best. The best thing to do is to replace it and then drive a couple gentle laps around the block.

question, how do you know your PCM is what is bad?
ftpiercecracker is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-07-2012, 12:57 AM
Registered User
2003 WJ 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 1,641
Unless you have the SKIM security, you don't need to have it reflashed. Make sure the new one you get is the same.part number, or at least an updated one. Usually it works by adding 2 letters to the end of the part number. IE, 123456789AD has revisions made and is still able to replace 123456789AB.

1994 Cherokee Sport - 4.0 HO - AW4 - 4WD

Originally Posted by Rob99
The next time you want to tell a story but not get people's opinions, rather than post it on an internet forum, open up Microsoft Word, type your story there, then click on the little X in the top right corner and then hit yourself in the head with a sledge hammer.
Originally Posted by bigsquat
If he finds the yj section im putting round headlights on mine.
USMC_XJ is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-08-2012, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: omaha
Posts: 2
when the auto mechanic ran a test the everything was working and he overrode the system and started it. after i shut it off it would not start. the fuel pump was working so the mech said it was the pcm
chrisreusch is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-08-2012, 11:12 PM
Web Wheeler
1991 XJ Cherokee 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 1,297
What do you mean he 'overrode' the system? If your key is gray, you have SKIS/SKIM. You need a DRBIII scan tool (about 5 grands) to reprogram the VIN in the ECU.
Reptile is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-09-2012, 06:45 AM
Registered User
1990 MJ Comanche 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Guston
Posts: 469
Had to replace it on the 97 TJ. I bought it online and the company I bought it from flashed it with the vin. So, I would assume your 2000 needs it as well. Did you post this on teh Cherokee forum? This is the comanche forum.

90 MJ 4.0 4X4 5sp LB Pioneer Big Ton.
Truck contains parts from 3 MJs, 2 XJs, 1 TJ and a dishwasher.
Check out
My build thread:
Wifes: 97 TJ 2.5 4X4 5sp 31's stock. . . Slow but; reliable.
97_4popper is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome