Auto trany - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-12-2012, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Auto trany

I have a 1990 mj with the auto tranny. It won't shift and if been told that it is the shift control box. Has anyone else ever encountered this problem? And where is the shift control box???

BigRedWilkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 03-12-2012, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Just got told it was the transmission control module???
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 03-12-2012, 05:01 PM
mj40
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: north bay/corbeil
Posts: 282
mine was below the glove box like the one in the pic..
Attached Thumbnails
trans module.jpg  
mj40 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 03-12-2012, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Where can I get a new one ???
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 03-13-2012, 08:29 AM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedWilkey View Post
Where can I get a new one ???
Wanna try something else first that's cheap and easy?

Right near the TCU, as shown in the above photo, is an inline fuseholder with a fuse in it. Normally wrapped in yellow tape. If that fuse is blown or corroded, that could be your whole problem.
cruiser54 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 03-13-2012, 10:05 AM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Already looked at the fuse you mentioned and it's good
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 03-13-2012, 04:22 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedWilkey View Post
Already looked at the fuse you mentioned and it's good
Junkyard is the best place. They rarely fail. Get one from an 88 to 90.

Have you checked the connectors under the hood yet?
cruiser54 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 03-13-2012, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Which connectors?
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 03-13-2012, 07:01 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,235
Near the trans dipstick tube there are 2 rather large squarish connectors. One is gray and the other black. Those two connectors are the information superhighway between the TCU, trans solenoids, speed sensor, and TPS. Unplug them, clean them out with electical contact cleaner, inspect the pins, add dielectric grease and plug them back together.
cruiser54 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 03-14-2012, 08:45 AM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Thanks I will try this when I get home and let you know!
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 03-15-2012, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Checked the connection today. Very dirty so I cleaned them up and took it for a spin..... Sadly nothing. Any other suggestions?
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 03-15-2012, 10:21 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedWilkey View Post
Checked the connection today. Very dirty so I cleaned them up and took it for a spin..... Sadly nothing. Any other suggestions?
How many connectors did you clean? One or two?
cruiser54 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 03-15-2012, 10:38 PM
Azzy
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finleyville
Posts: 3,330
Search on here for AW4 Shift Pointers. it will tell you how to test your tps and see if you need to buy one. I know the latter ones run about 80 for used, and 200 for rebuilt.

Also check under your hood at the pdc and see if any of the fuses there are bad. Are your grounds good?

Im the guy who makes new gauges, check out our gallery at Teamadw.com
Azzy is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 03-22-2012, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
BigRedWilkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
I replaced the TCM last night and it fixed the problem! I had to go to 4 junk yards to find one but I finally did. Thanks to everyone for their time.
BigRedWilkey is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 03-22-2012, 09:23 AM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,235
Glad to hear it. What year did you get the TCU out of?
cruiser54 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome