88 comanche speedometer cable - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-02-2014, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
88 comanche speedometer cable

does anyone know where to find a speedo cable for a 88 4.0/ 5 spd 2wd?

ckjeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-03-2014, 10:36 AM
87MJTim
Registered User
1987 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Market
Posts: 298
Rockauto may have it. You will need specify if it has cruise control or not. Also, look at the xj up to 90, since they are the same as the MJ.

Tim

87 Comanche, 4.0, AX15 (formerly BA10/5), D44
84 CJ7, 4.2, AX15 (Formerly T5)
87MJTim is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-05-2014, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
it doesnt have cruise or ac .it is a stripped truck
ckjeep is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-12-2014, 10:46 PM
Caish
Registered User
1987 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central
Posts: 631
get one for a 2wd cherokee, if you can't find one, we will have to change the one on the sons truck since its going 4x4.

Join us on Jeeperz Creeperz on Google+
Facebook: Arkansas Jeeps
Caish is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-24-2014, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
so a cable for a 90 xj should work?.i found a new one but
they say it only fits a 1990
ckjeep is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-24-2014, 04:10 PM
87MJTim
Registered User
1987 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Market
Posts: 298
Yes, up to 90 used the cable. 91+ went to electronic speedos.

Since you don't have cruise, you only need the one piece cable.

Tim

87 Comanche, 4.0, AX15 (formerly BA10/5), D44
84 CJ7, 4.2, AX15 (Formerly T5)
87MJTim is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-24-2014, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
well advance auto website says that cable is no longer available i guess i will try the junk yards or maybe ebay
ckjeep is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-24-2014, 04:57 PM
87MJTim
Registered User
1987 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Market
Posts: 298
Rockauto lists them. However, they describe cable for automatics. I dont know the diff between auto and stick.

Tim

87 Comanche, 4.0, AX15 (formerly BA10/5), D44
84 CJ7, 4.2, AX15 (Formerly T5)
87MJTim is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-25-2014, 12:26 AM
Caish
Registered User
1987 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central
Posts: 631
We jsut changed the tranny and added a tranfer case to the sons 88 Comanche and I used the stock cable. It didn't have anything extra but it reached and works.
the Tranny and xfer case came from a 91 XJ. But both was 5 speeds.

Join us on Jeeperz Creeperz on Google+
Facebook: Arkansas Jeeps
Caish is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-25-2014, 08:22 AM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
i have found several on ebay for different xjs. they look to have the right ends but are different lengths.one is 77 " and the other is 96". i guess i will pull mine back out and get a measurement. thanks everyone for the help
ckjeep is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-25-2014, 08:38 AM
87MJTim
Registered User
1987 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Market
Posts: 298
The diff in length is 2wd to 4wd. Since you indicated you have 2wd, you can get the 77".

If you plan to go 4wd, get the longer cable.

Tim

87 Comanche, 4.0, AX15 (formerly BA10/5), D44
84 CJ7, 4.2, AX15 (Formerly T5)
87MJTim is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-26-2014, 07:52 AM Thread Starter
ckjeep
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: sanford
Posts: 229
thanks tim i didnt even think about the reasons for the different lengths.i had all intentions of leaving this truck stock 2wd when i bought it but anyone that knows me very well knows i have to modify or change every vehicle i have.
ckjeep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome