Two Jeeps, one key. - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Cheap Tricks & Fixes > Two Jeeps, one key.

Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!ARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan KitsSmittybilt Products at Oconee Off-Road!

Unread 02-04-2009, 12:38 PM   #16
00rt
2008 WK 

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyguy View Post
I am a certified locksmith and I work on vehicles and there transponders.

The grey key is a valey key. It only allows the user to work the ignition. The grey key should not work the glove box or gas cap, if so equipped.

The black key is your master key that will work everything.

You can have one car keyed the same as the other as they should be the same keyway I believe. so the same key will work all the way around...but you would have to go to your local **BONDED** locksmith(you dont want to mess with non-bonded locksmiths as they screw people over to much)and get them to program all keys to both cars.

The keys have a set 16 digit code and they use a machine to access the computer on the vehicle and tell the computer to accept the new codes.

However, there are clone keys also. they start with the code: 0000000000000000. and with the right sequence of opening and shutting your door, turning the ignition on and off a few times and touching the brake pedal will enter a training mode on the car where you can clone keys to the same 16 digit code on your key.

in summary yes it is very possible....but this will cost you about 200 dollars if your lucky....my shop would charge about 300 dollars to do it....

Also, to get your transponder keys copied it generally costs 95 bucks. Dealers here in fresno charge 175 for a duplicate.

hope I helped in some way.