Anyone upgrade their 8.4a to navigation? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-18-2013, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
JDThird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sturtevant
Posts: 13
Anyone upgrade their 8.4a to navigation?

When I was ready to purchase, the only limited that had the options I wanted in my state was the one I got - but it didn't have the AN radio, just the A. Since I'm in Wisconsin, I didn't want to replace the bald tires on my Juke to stay on the road once the snows started hitting, so I figured I'd rather upgrade it myself later and get the jeep NOW rather than wait and see what would become available, since the dealer options have been quite limited as far as what they were receiving.

The only downside for me is the A upgrade won't get me the 3D cities that the AN comes with due to the lack of RAM and such in the Radio, but since I live in South East Wisconsin, there isn't anywhere I'd be using that anyway.

My rebate check from the Juke's gap insurance will cover the nav upgrade, so it's not costing me anything out of pocket if I do so, depending on how you look at it. I hate separate nav devices, I hate having things stuck on the dash or the window (I don't even bother with my radar detector in the new Jeep now), so the in dash nav is the preference for me, even if I lose advanced features that I could have in a hand held Garmin or something. For me it's more about having a map in crap weather, such as fog and such, so I can see where the road is turning ahead of me, or where the side road I need to turn on is, when visibility is abysmal.

Has anyone done the upgrade to an 8.4a yet? Just wondering if anyone had, how the system performed?

Thanks for any input

John

JDThird is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-18-2013, 07:49 PM
priell3
Registered User
2014 KL Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 265
I have not.

MikeP - 2014 KL Latitude in Granite
Gone but not forgotten:
2007 JK
2003 KJ
2000 XJ
priell3 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-19-2013, 08:51 AM
JeepGC6855
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lawrence
Posts: 222
I have added the Navigation to my Grand Cherokee and it works great, very pleased with it. (same radio as in your Cherokee) I'm thinking about replacing my wife's Juke with the new Cherokee, but will probably wait until next year.
JeepGC6855 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-20-2013, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
JDThird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sturtevant
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepGC6855 View Post
I have added the Navigation to my Grand Cherokee and it works great, very pleased with it. (same radio as in your Cherokee) I'm thinking about replacing my wife's Juke with the new Cherokee, but will probably wait until next year.
Thanks for the feedback!

John
JDThird is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-27-2013, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
JDThird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sturtevant
Posts: 13
Got it done this morning - was setting up an appointment to reflash the transmission in 10 days, and asked if they'd have time to do this quick for me today while I was there. Took 'em about 15 minutes, I was in and out.

I'm very impressed with this navigation package, absolutely blown away comparing it to my 2012 Juke or what I had in my Smart Car before that. Works and looks awesome on that nice big screen.
JDThird is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-27-2013, 01:00 PM
NHPATRIOT
Registered User
2014 KL Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Exeter
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDThird View Post
Got it done this morning - was setting up an appointment to reflash the transmission in 10 days, and asked if they'd have time to do this quick for me today while I was there. Took 'em about 15 minutes, I was in and out.

I'm very impressed with this navigation package, absolutely blown away comparing it to my 2012 Juke or what I had in my Smart Car before that. Works and looks awesome on that nice big screen.
How much did they hit you up for it and was it just a flash or did it also include some hard parts?

2014 Jeep Cherokee
Latitude
3.2L Pentastar V6
Active Drive I
NHPATRIOT is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-28-2013, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
JDThird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sturtevant
Posts: 13
595 (I didn't mind, I used the gap refund from my trade to pay for it so it didn't cost me anything out of pocket essentially) and no parts, just the codes to install the app.
JDThird is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome