Why did I blow this hole through my frame while welding? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Why did I blow this hole through my frame while welding?

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 04-28-2013, 08:36 AM   #1
Alheim
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Why did I blow this hole through my frame while welding?

Photo below.

So I'm welding my relocated frame motor mounts on my frame during my 4.0 swap, and things are going pretty well. I'm a novice welder with maybe ten hours of practice, and countless hours of welding study & research under my belt.

I'm welding with a 110v Lincoln MIG, using 0.035" flux core (Lincoln Innershield NR-211).

I stop welding to check out my progress, and for the first time, I see that I blew a 1/8" hole right through the frame! The frame is 1/8" thick. This has never happened before, even while practicing and intentionally pushing the machine to the limits (moving too fast, too slow, wire feed too fast, too slow, etc). I also had already welded the other motor mount with no issues.

Any idea why this happened?

I think the weld looks alright. What do you guys think? Is a second pass necessary?

Cheers,

Alex

Alheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-28-2013, 10:35 AM   #2
AGDubyaJ
1998 XJ Cherokee 

just stitch it shut and run 2 more passes on it. there may have been a thin spot in the base metal (rust), or your travel speed was a little slow/ machine settings to high. its an easy fix, it shouldnt compromise the weld if you fix it properly.
Unread 04-28-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
BESRK
GROUND POUNDER

1980 CJ5