JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Fabrication Shop (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f37/)
-   -   What would u get next (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f37/what-would-u-get-next-1568153/)

Bigdude408 08-28-2013 08:18 AM

What would u get next

So I was going to buy some bolt ins for my tj, I have about $3500. But then I had the epiphany. I'm 31, and ill get allot of use out of some more fab tools, or adding to my fathers rather and that's where I do all of my work at.
We have all the basic hand and air tools, a good compressor, a 110 mig, and a stick welder that handles up to a 3/16" stick.
I'm really looking into a plasma cutter and a tube bender, but I'm not closed minded for other items. I coulda get bottles for the oxygen acedilin torch, but since I have very little fab experience, I thought a plasma would be easier on me.
I also would need a notcher and any other things I would need for tubing.

As far as purpose, it will be used to repair and modify my jeep, with plans to eventually build a purpose built tube buggy.
It's a open conversation, if u think I'm waisting my time and should just give my money to genright or Psc, just say so. Lol

Thanks in advanced.

wushaw 08-28-2013 01:07 PM

Horizontal band saw.

AtTheHelm 08-28-2013 02:26 PM

3500 could get you
Plasma
Bigger welder
Tube bender w one die
Lots of steel

Skip the plasma for more steel and use other cutting methods. (Portaband, angle grinder, cheap skilsaw w a freud D0738F metal cutting blade.

Of course the amount of time you want to spend building is a factor but I say its time well spent..

Bigdude408 08-28-2013 03:42 PM

Think ill need a bigger welder? It's so new to me, I guess I should start with a tube bender and go from there.
I have a chop saw and porta band.

AtTheHelm 08-28-2013 04:46 PM

What kind of machines do you have and is 230 power available where you'll be working?