Welding truss to Rubicon D44's - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Welding truss to Rubicon D44's

ECGS Black Friday Sale!!1993-1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Stainless Steel Exhaust Mani1996-1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Header Panel

Unread 07-31-2014, 12:46 PM   #1
rjacobs
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Welding truss to Rubicon D44's

Im starting to collect all my parts for my build on my 14 Rubicon.

One thing I am doing is Artec truss's(front and rear) and C-gussets on the front, track bar brackets and front lower control arm skids.

I have a few friends who are certified welders that are going to help me weld it up(I am a complete newb to welding save for throwing some beads down last weekend with a mig and flux core on a bunch of scrap metal) and we have talked at length and ruminated on the proper methods for the center section. Using a Millermatic 200(on a 220v outlet). Axle's will be completely torn down(no seals, ball joints, pinion, ring gear, etc...).

From what we understand the D44 center sections are nodular iron which some people refer to as cast steel. The inner C's are forged. The tubes are mild steel.

The plan is to mig w/gas the tubes and main truss components(mild steel on mild steel), track bar brackets and lower control arm skids. Just planning to use a normal wire, nothing crazy(not sure what all my buddy has, or I can buy a roll if its something he doesnt have). No pre/post-heat necessary, air cool with plenty of time in between each piece to keep the tubes from warping. Would wrapping each piece with a welding blanket help control anything or just waste of time?