Welding for a living - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Welding for a living

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueBest deals on Yukon Gears at JeepHut.comNeed Ace Engineering products? JeepHut has you covered.

Unread 10-24-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
outbackmatt

Welding for a living

I'm a welder and just curious about how many hours a day other welders spend actually laying beads?

I would say I spend 1/5 the day welding. The rest of my time goes to building the parts, cutting, grinding, bending, notching and drilling. Then I fit the parts into jigs, tack and finally weld.

Also, does your company require respirators to be worn for grinding and mig welding mild steel? What kind of ventilation is used in the shop?

outbackmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 04:09 PM   #2
AtTheHelm

I don't weld for a living, but do build bumpers and other parts for the Liberty KK at home in my spare time.
I'd say 1/5 of the time actually welding is about right for me too when I'm working. Maybe less.

As for ventilation its just the garage door opened 1/2 with a box fan. I also have a small 400 cfm duct fan blowing out a 4x14 register near the ceiling.
I only wear a respirator when grinding with p100 filters.
AtTheHelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 04:56 PM   #3
outbackmatt

I'm interested in making a fume extractor like this over the welding table possibly using a duct fan and running the fumes outside. Is your duct fan for exhaust or bringing air in?

Unread 10-24-2013, 05:27 PM   #4
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler 

When i'm a job as just a weldor..i weld 90% of the day..fitters have everything ready to go and we just come in and weld away.