Understanding benders (& welder amps) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Understanding benders (& welder amps)

XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoRCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 09-19-2010, 12:26 PM   #1
alecmcmahon

Understanding benders (& welder amps)

Im in the process of starting to finish my garage, starting electrical work and drywall, etc.

After the garage is done i'd like to start a truggy / buggy project if funds allow, ideally, as a novice, i'd prob. buy somebodys unfinished project and continue with that to learn.

With that said, Benders is one of those things that still confuse me, having never seen one being used in person.

Are tons of separate dies needed for various bends? could the average cage builder get away with one or two? In what sort of scenario might the tons of other degree dies come in handy? I see typically they are listed as ' different wall sizes and different degrees ' . Elaborate?

Is special computer software required for planning and bending?

Manual vs Hydro benders? the JD Squared, Inc. benders look * reasonably * priced. They have various models from smaller hand powered benders, ones with hydrolic rams, and pumps , etc. Are the manual hand ones easy enough to use with standard DOM pipe? 1.75x0.120 and thicker, for example - cages and ' buggy ' projects? Will I be tired and sore after making two bends? or they reasonable enough for the average person.

Also, on the other side of the spectrum. Welders... Interested in the Hobart 210, I cant seem to pull up a spec sheet off the northentool site, what size breaker / wire is required off the breaker panel for it to run safely?

thanks!