Type of steel for front/rear bumpers - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Type of steel for front/rear bumpers

XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 06-14-2013, 07:19 AM   #1
Fitch
2005 LJ Wrangler 

Type of steel for front/rear bumpers

So I work for a steel building manufacturing company and I ended up checking with the operations director about loading up some scrap. He said it wouldn't be a problem but asked what kind of steel I was looking for?

I'm no expert on metal or fabrication work so what should I tell this guy? Should I just ask for an I beam and call it good lol?

Fitch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-14-2013, 11:33 AM   #2
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler 

I'd take what ever he is willing to let you have,i'm assuming you mean its a Pre-Engineered building company like for example a Butler or American Building.

It also really depends on what kind of tools and equipment you have at home to work with to cut up and fabricate a bumper with..welder..cuttin torch,,grinder,cut wheels...etc etc.

Most of the Girders and Perlins i've ever seen on Pre Fab buildings are 1/8" to 3/16" material..which is pretty common for a bumper,plus the knee brace material,bridging stiffeners for the perlins...etc

Anything from sheetmetal up to 1/4" material would be good scrap to have around for jeep projects

Never forget 9/11

"Welding is like a woman,Get 'er HOT and Penetrate"

Gotta LOVE a person who knows everything about NOTHING

The only Thing necessary for the Evil to win is a good man to do nothing....